Date: October 04, 2012
Author: Golf Australia

Aussie men all set for Eisenhower Trophy

The Australian men’s team of Daniel Nisbet (QLD), Cameron Smith (QLD) and Matthew Stieger (NSW) tee off tonight (AEST) in the opening round of the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships in Antalya, Turkey from 4-8 October. The Australians begin their campaign on Cornelia Golf Club’s Faldo Course, hunting Australia s first Eisenhower Trophy since 1996 and have been paired with Puerto Rico and Switzerland in the opening two rounds. Nisbet (Caboolture) won the US Players Amateur Championship in South Carolina in July and won the Lake Macquarie Amateur earlier in the year. He was runner-up at the Australian Amateur Championship in January. Smith (Royal Queensland) is a former Australian Junior and Australian Men’sStroke Play champion and finished runner-up to Nisbet at the Lake Macquarie Amateur and recorded a top 4 finish at the Porter Cup in the United States. Stieger (St Michaels) is a former Australian Amateur champion and enjoyed a successful northern summer schedule making the quarter finals of the British Amateur Championship and recorded top 5 finishes at the Scottish Amateur and Porter Cup. The men’s Team Coach is Tony Meyer (Queensland) and Brad James is the Team Manager. The Australian men’s team last won the Eisenhower Trophy in 1996 in a team that included Jamie Crow, David Gleeson, Jarrod Moseley and Brett Partridge. Each team has two or three players and plays 72 holes of stroke play over four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team s score for the championship.