Date: July 10, 2012

Aussies face off against best at Players Amateur

Click here for scores A large contingent of ten Australians will tee off in the Players Amateur Championship beginning Tuesday evening AEST at Berkeley Hall Club near Hilton Head, North Carolina. There is plenty at stake for the champion with the winner earning an exemption into the nearby RBC Heritage tournament on the PGA Tour in 2013. National Squad members Jake Higginbottom (NSW), Cameron Smith (QLD), Daniel Nisbet (QLD), Anthony Murdaca (SA), Nathan Holman (VIC), Brett Drewitt (NSW) and Oliver Goss (WA) will tee off alongside fellow Aussies Rory Bourke (VIC), Geoff Drakeford (VIC) and Matt Stieger (NSW). The only Australian to win the title was Aron Price in 2004 but past champions include FedEx Cup champion Bill Haas, Rickie Fowler and Camilo Villegas. While competing in the 1999 US Amateur Championship at Pebble Beach, former US Walker Cup Team members, Duke Delcher and Tom McKnight iscussed the formation of a premier amateur golf tournament. The inaugural Players Amateur was held the next summer. Former British Open Champion, Ben Curtis, was the winner of the 2000 event. American Corbin Mills won the 2011 event.