Date: April 01, 2010

Australia marches to fourth Trans-Tasman Cup

FINAL RESULTS: 2010 Trans-Tasman Cup The Australian team produced a display of near total dominance to win its fourth consecutive Trans-Tasman Cup 31-17 at Royal Wellington Golf Club in New Zealand on Tuesday. Recently crowned Srixon Australian Amateur champion Stacey Keating said it was good to win and was particularly enjoyable after the Australian women’s team lost their section in 2009. I am excited to be here and to have a win is even better this year. To get the win after we lost last year – I was in that team and it was good to make things right this time, Keating said. It’s great. I need a rest now after the Australian Amateur and all the hype of it all. There s nothing better than winning your own national amateur, Keating said. We heard about it from the New Zealanders for 12 months so now we can give it back. Australia, leading 16-8 overnight, won the morning foursomes 6-2 today to move to a virtually unassailable lead, leaving the New Zealand team needing to win 15 of the 16 afternoon matches. New Zealand improved but could not stop the Australians racing to a 15-9 win the afternoon singles and the overall honours 31-17. New Zealand s performance of the tournament came from the junior women’s combination who won the Junior Tasman Cup for the first time. Much of the success was due to the performances of the Srixon Australian Women’s Stroke Play champion Cecilia Cho and rising star Lydia Ko. It was a good two days. I was quite tired after coming back from Australia but it was great to play for New Zealand. Our junior team all played well to win the trophy for the first time, Cho said. Australia took out the Sloan Morpeth Trophy 7 to 4 , the Tasman Cup 9 to 2 and and the Clare Higson Trophy by the same margin. Keating is joined by Ebony Heard (SA) and Justine Lee (NSW) in the Australian team at the Queen Sirikit Cup, also held in New Zealand, next week. The Trans Tasman Trophy merges the previous four events for the Sloan Morpeth Trophy (senior men), Tasman Cup (senior women), Clare Higson Trophy (junior men) and Junior Tasman Trophy (junior women). Australian Men’sTeam: Daniel Beckmann (VIC), Kieran Pratt (VIC), Jason Scrivener (WA) and Jordan Sherratt (SA). Australian Women’s Team: Ebony Heard (SA), Stacey Keating (VIC), Justine Lee (NSW) and Jessica Speechley (WA). Australian Boys Team: Jake Higginbottom (NSW), Ryan Peake (WA), Cameron Smith (QLD) and Aaron Wilkin (QLD). Australian Girls Team: Emma Ash (SA), Bree Elliott (VIC), Christina Mew (QLD) and Ashley Ona (QLD). The team managers were Trish Harding (QLD) and Graeme Parsons (WA). The coach was Jane Lock (VIC).