Date: November 17, 2008

Australia trounces rivals in Malaysia

CLICK HERE FOR FINAL LEADERBOARD FROM MALAYSIA The Australian team of Denis Dale, Rick Oliver, Brian Sams, Nigel Goodall, Stefan Albinski and Ross Percy built on their 17 stroke lead overnight to finish a very comfortable 23 strokes ahead of close rival New Zealand and claim the trophy. The Australians led from start to finish, dominating the tournament with some excellent golf. Australia was the strongest team at the event this year with our six players finishing in the top 20 and three players finishing in the top seven positions. Brian Sams and Stefan Albinski were tied at +5 after 54 holes with both teammates eager to win the individual title and be crowned Asia Pacific Senior Amateur Champion. Stefan and Brian played off for the title with Stefan taking the individual title with a birdie on the 2nd playoff hole. This is the third occasion that the Asia-Pacific Senior has been played in Malaysia, with the two previous occasions being hosted by The Royal Selangor Golf Club in 1986 and 1999. The championship has been played since 1986 and is conducted by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC), the international governing body for amateur golf in the Asia-Pacific region. Players must be 55 years of age or over and the winner receives the Y.A. Bhg. Tun Abdul Hamid Omar Cup. In addition to the overall winner, prizes are awarded in four age groups (A – 55-59 years, B – 60-64 years, C – 65-69 years and D – 70 years & above) and there is an international team match.