Date: April 26, 2009

Australia wins Southern Cross Cup

Australia has won the 2009 Southern Cross Cup at Wairakei International Golf Course in New Zealand after thrilling final day of action. After a narrow win over South Africa in the opening round and a 5-1 demolition of Argentina on Friday, the Australians battled against New Zealand on the final day and succumbed to a 4 to 1 loss. But the two previous wins were enough to keep Australia in first place by a narrow margin. In today s foursomes, Ryan McCarthy (TAS) and Matt Jager (WA) lost 1-down to the New Zealand duo Ryan Fox and Thomas Spearman-Burn. Scott Arnold (NSW) and Brendan Smith (NSW) recorded Australia s only victory of the day with a 2&1 win over Daniel Pearce and Peter Spearman-Burn. McCarthy, Jager and Smith all lost their singles matches while current Srixon Australian Amateur champion Arnold managed to square his match against Peter Spearman-Burn. South Africa defeated Argentina 4-2 in their final round contest to take second place. New Zealand finished third and Argentina finished fourth. Australia finished third at the 2007 Southern Cross Cup in Argentina. The Southern Cross Cup has showcased some leading golfers since it was first played in 1999, including Australians Aaron Baddeley, Brett Rumford, Marcus Fraser, Nick Flanagan, South African Louis Oosthuizen and New Zealanders Gareth Paddison, Tim Wilkinson and Brad Iles. FINAL LEADERBOARD P W H L PTS M 1. AUSTRALIA 3 2 1 2 10 2. SOUTH AFRICA 3 1 1 1 1 9 3. NEW ZEALAND 3 1 1 1 1 9 4. ARGENTINA 3 1 2 1 7