Date: November 08, 2018

Australian All Abilities Championship, presented by ISPS HANDA

<image="2" align="left" />

The Australian All Abilities Championship (AAAC), presented by ISPS HANDA, returns for its second edition played at The Australian Golf Club.

In 2018, history was made with the first staging of the AAAC, with interest not only from the media and the public but from professional players the world over.

This groundbreaking initiative of holding the AAAC alongside the Open is a world-first. Players with disability play alongside, and off the same tees, as top pros and amateurs for the Open. “In 2018 we were to be part of history,’’ said AAAC competitor Juan Postigo, the world No. 2 who plays without the use of a prosthetic, playing on just his left leg.

The success of the AAAC in 2018 has brought about the USGA and the R&A announcing a new worldwide rankings system which is part of the push to get golf into the Paralympics. Additionally, other major tours will, for the first time, look to launch initiatives that include playing opportunities for elite golfers with disability.

The second edition of AAAC begins Friday 6th of December 2019 at The Australian Golf Club, with 12 of the world’s best golfers with disability in the field.

Golf Australia inclusion manager Christian Hamilton said the inception of the World Rankings for Golfers with a Disability (WR4GD) had opened another historic avenue for the world-first event.

“We were overwhelmed by the global support we received last year as we made the AAAC the first event of its kind to be played as part of an able-bodied national championship,” Hamilton said.

“Those rankings are not gender specific, so I’m delighted to say that we are able to announce Dutch golfer Daphne Van Houten as the first female participant in the AAAC, which will also mean it’s the first time in more than a century of Australian Opens that we’ve had a woman playing among the field.

Read the full release here.

2019 AAAC field

Johan Kammerstad (SWE)
Brendan Lawlor (IRE)
Mike Browne (ENG)
Kurtis Barkley (CAN)
Adem Wahbi (BEL)
Daphne Van Houten (NED)
Kenny Bontz (USA)
Chad Pfeifer (USA)
Geoff Nicholas (AUS)
Shane Luke (AUS)
Cameron Pollard (AUS)
Stephen Prior (AUS)

For final scores from the 2018 championship click here.