Date: October 20, 2016
Author: Golf Australia

Australian Amateur Championship � Entries Open

Entries are now open for the Australian Men’s and Women’s Amateur Championships presented by Swinging Skirts, to be played at Yarra Yarra Golf Club and Peninsula-Kingswood Country Golf Club (Kingwood Course), in Melbourne from 17-22 January 2017.

The field will consist of 234 men and 78 women who will contest 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 64 men and 32 women to qualify for elimination match play.

Both championships date back to 1894 with each champion receiving an exemption into their respective Australian Open.

Yarra Yarra Golf Club will be the primary course hosting both the qualifying and match play rounds, whilst Peninsula-Kingswood Country Golf Club’s Kingswood Course will co-host the qualifying rounds.

Yarra Yarra Golf Club plays host to the Championship for the first time in the club’s history, whilst Peninsula-Kingswood Country Golf Club plays co-host once again after hosting in 2016.  

With the men’s and women’s trophies going overseas in 2016 – Min-Ji Park (Korea) and Connor Syme (Scotland), the Aussies will be hoping to return the trophies to Australia in 2017.

The championships are held in the highest regard, and notable past men’s champions include Cameron Smith (2013), Brendan Jones (1999) Brett Rumford (1998), Greg Chalmers (1993), Matthew Goggin (1995) and Bruce Devlin (1959). Women’s notable past champions include Minjee Lee (2013 & 2014), Lydia Ko (2012), Stacey Keating (2010), Kristie Smith (2008) and Nikki Campbell (2002).

A number of top international players from England, Scotland, Wales, New Zealand, Japan, Korea, China and the USA will contest the championship alongside Australia’s top amateur players.

Various accommodation options are now available and entries close in on 14 December.

Visit the event page for more information or to enter –