Date: November 07, 2012
Author: Blind Golf Australia

Australian Blind Golf Championship Results

The Western Australian Blind Golf Association( WABGA) and Blind Golf Australia played their respective 2012 Open Championships at Collier Park Golf Club in Perth on October 30, 31 and November 1 2012. Sean Witting, a B2 player from Wangarratta in Victoria, playing with John Johnstone as his caddy scored a double by winning both championships . Sean has only been playing in blind golf events since August 2011 and started the WA Open with a 24 handicap. The WA Open was played as a stableford event and Sean won with a score of 42 points. The Australian Open was played as a two day stroke event and Sean won again with a total gross score of 186. WA Open Scoreboard WA Champion Sean Witting Victoria , John Johnstone caddy 42 points WA Open Runner Up Doug Burrows WA , Thelma Burrows caddy 40 points B1 Winner David Blyth Victoria , Gary McGinnes Caddy 35 points B1 Runner Up, Glenn Niciejewski ( QLD) , Scott Downing Caddy 30 points B2 Winner Jenny McCallum WA, Ian McCallum Caddy 38 points B2 Runner Up John Rawlings Vic , Ken Wilford Caddy 36 points B3 Winner Rick Krolik Vic , Alex Petropulo Caddy 35 points B3 Runner Up Stephen Mitchell NSW , Steven Woolford Caddy 34 points Australian Open Scoreboard Australian Champion ( Best Gross Score) Sean Witting Vic 186 Net Champion John Rawlings Vic 138 B1 Gross David Blyth Vic 253 B1 Net Glenn Niciejewski Qld 154 B2 Gross Brian Gear Vic , Caddies Brian O&aposMeara, Mike Gear 222 B2 Net Jenny McCallum WA 162 B3 Gross Jeff Ellis Vic , Caddy Maureen Ellis 203 B3 Net David Wheatley Vic , Caddy Barney McKenna 150 Seniors Winner Doug Burrows WA Net 150