Date: July 22, 2010

Australian Senior Championships � Entries Open

Entries are now open for the Australian Women’s Senior and Australian Men’sSenior Match Championships, both to be played from 25-29 October. The Australian Women’s Senior Amateur will be played at Commonwealth Golf Club on Melbourne s sand-belt the venue of the 2010 and 2011 Handa Women’s Australian Open. The Championship will be played over 36-holes qualifying, followed by elimination match play. The leading 16 players qualify for the major championship, in addition to four age match play divisions a new Division for those players aged 70 years and over has been included in 2010. To keep things interesting, there will also be a Handicap Competition held in conjunction with the first two rounds of qualifying. The Interstate Stroke Teams Event will again be played in conjunction, with three players representing their state or territory in the aggregate scratch competition. 2009 champion, and six time winner, Sylvia Donohoe will surely return to defend her title, while last year s runner up, Lynne Townsend will be out to go one better in 2010. The Australian Men’sSenior Match Play Championship is in its third year, and will again be held at Thirteenth Beach Golf Links on Victoria s Bellarine Peninsula. The leading 32 entries from the 2010 Australian Men’sSenior Ranking System, plus the top eight players in the 65 years and over section, will contest match play over five days. Defending Champion and current Australian Senior Amateur Champion, Stefan Albinski from NSW will be looking to go back to back, but will have tough competition from the numerous seniors sure to ensure he does not hold both Australian Senior titles simultaneously. Please click here for further information about the Women’s Senior Amateur. Please click here for further information about the Men’sSenior Match Play.