Date: July 03, 2009

Australian team ready for Korea

Golf Australia today announced the Australian team for the 2009 Asia Pacific Teams Championship to be held from September 15-18 2009 at Namseoul Country Club in Seoul, Korea. The Australian team is Daniel Beckmann (VIC), Matt Jager (WA), Bryden Macpherson (VIC) and Jordan Sherratt (SA). Held every two years, Australia has an excellent record in the tournament with the Australians lifting the Nomura Cup as champions in Taiwan in 2007. Beckmann was runner-up in this year s Srixon Australian Amateur Championship at Royal Queensland Golf Club and combined with then amateur Scott Arnold to win the Australian Men’sFoursomes Championship at Riversdale Golf Club in March. Jager, a member of the victorious Australian teams at this year s Trans Tasman Cup in Canberra and Southern Cross Cup in New Zealand, he continued his excellent individual form in winning the New Zealand Amateur Championship in April. Macpherson also represented Australia at the Trans Tasman Cup and was crowned Srixon Australian Men’sStroke Play champion and New Zealand Men’sStroke Play champion. Sherratt, winner of the 2009 Riversdale Cup and a former South Australian Amateur champion will also wear the green and gold. Golf Australia Chairman of Selectors Ian Read said, The players selected for our premium representative Australian men’s team of 2009 have shown a level and consistency of performance that would suggest they will be strong contenders to defend the event won two years ago in Taiwan. I am also pleased to announce that Stuart Cox (NSW) will be managing the team and Gary Calder (Leader of the Queensland Academy of Sport Golf Program) will be the Coach . Golf Australia CEO Stephen Pitt said the team would represent Australia well. Australia has a very proud history of success in this championship and I have no doubt that the boys will continue in that tradition, Pitt said.