Date: September 07, 2009

Australian team ready to defend Senior title

Golf Australia today announced the Australian team selections for the 2009 Asia Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC) Senior Amateur Championship at Nexus Golf Resort Karambunai, in Sabah, Malaysia from 10-12 December. Stefan Albinski (NSW), Greg Corben (NSW), Denis Dale (NSW), Grahame McDonald (QLD), Ross Percy (VIC) and Brian Sams (NSW) will form the Australian team. Denis Dale will be the playing Team Manager. In the 2008 championship, Australia held off second placed New Zealand by 23 strokes in an outstanding performance where six players finished in the Top 20 of the individual leaderboard and three players in the Top 10. Stefan Albinski also claimed the 2008 individual title when he birdied the second play-off hole against Australian team mate Brian Sams. 2009 will mark the fourth time that the championship has been held in Malaysia. Golf Australia Chairman of Selectors, Ian Read said Australia has a proud history of success in this event since its inception and this year s team, including two new faces in Greg Corben and Grahame McDonald, should be a strong combination and favoured to win. The championship has been played since 1986 and is conducted by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC), the international governing body for amateur golf in the Asia-Pacific region. Players must be 55 years of age or over and the winner receives the Y.A. Bhg. Tun Abdul Hamid Omar Cup. The 2009 APGC Senior Amateur Championship will be held at Nexus Golf Resort Karambunai in Malaysia from 10-12 December.