Date: September 27, 2011

Australian team selected for Asia Pacific Senior Amateur

Golf Australia has announced the Australian Teams to contest the 2011 Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Championship to be played at Royal Perth Golf Club from 30 November – 2 December. Two three-man teams will contest the event in 2011, with the players constituting Team A being Stefan Albinski (NSW), Denis Dale (NSW) and Roy Vandersluis (NSW). Team B is Chris Coats (QLD), Peter King (QLD), and Paul Maslen (NSW). Albinski and Dale were automatic selections based on their number 1 and 2 positions on the Australian Senior Rankings, while Vandersluis third placing on the Rankings earned him the final spot in Team A. Albinski is the reigning current Australian Senior Amateur Champion, while Dale has won two Ranking events in the last 12 months, as well as a third place finish at the Australian Senior Amateur. Vandersluis has performed consistently over the last year, with seven top 10 finishes in his nine starts in Ranking events. Coats, who is the current Australian Men’sSenior Match Play Champion and fourth ranked player on the Rankings will lead Team B. He will team with King, who has returned impressive results after winning the 2011 NSW Senior Amateur, and finishing fourth in the Australian Senior Amateur, while Maslen is new to senior ranks but has finished 3rd, 4th and 5th in his three starts in strong senior events, as well as finishing tied 31st in the 2009 Handa Australian Senior Open played at Royal Perth Golf Club. The Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Championship is played over 54-holes stroke play, and comprises an individual event with the team event in conjunction. Australia is defending champions in the Teams Event, and will be hoping the trophy remains in Australia. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The three-day (54-hole) total is the team s score for the championship. The event is organised by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation. Australian and international players not selected as part of a team may enter individually. Click Here for further entry information.