Date: October 24, 2010

Australians 15th as Korea wins Espirito Santo

The Australian team of Julia Boland, Stacey Keating and Alison Whitaker have finished in a tie for 15th with China after the final round of the World Amateur Team Championships for the Espirito Santo Trophy in Argentina. The team posted a final round score of 1-over par at Olivos Golf Club. Stacey Keating finished with the best round of the day for the Australians with an even-par 72 while Alison Whitaker finished with a round of 1-over-par 73. Julia Boland s 3-over-par 75 was non-counting. The Australians finished at 4-over par for the championship (580). The Australian women’s team also finished in a tie for 15th at the 2008 championships in Adelaide. Champions Korea broke the tournament record for the lowest score and won by 17 strokes over the USA to claim its second Espirito Santo Trophy. The Koreans, who also won the title in 1996 in the Philippines, shot 30-under-par 546, finishing 12 strokes better than the 72-hole scoring record of 558 set by the USA in 1998. This is the second time we have won this event and I would like to thank the players for the victory, said Korean captain Hyung-Mo Kang. They played very well. Hyun-Soo Kim and Jung-Eun Han shot 69 and 70, respectively. The 71 from Ji-Hee Kim was not counted. I never looked at the leader board, said Hyun-Soo Kim, who was the leading amateur at the 2010 Handa Women’s Australian Open. I realised we won on the last hole. The men’s World Amateur Team Championships for the Eisenhower Cup begins next Thursday 28 October (AEDST). The Australian team is Bryden Macpherson (VIC), Matt Jager (WA) and Kieran Pratt (VIC). Each team has two or three players and plays 18 holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team s score for the championship.