Date: March 09, 2011

Australians set for Queen Sirikit start

The Australian team of Breanna Elliott (VIC), Ashley Ona (QLD) and Jessica Speechley (WA) are set for today s opening round of the 2011 Queen Sirikit Cup at Delhi Golf Club in India. The championship is hosted annually on a rotation basis among 14 invited member countries with the objectives of promoting the standard of women’s golf in the region and to promote goodwill and friendship among participating teams. Each country is represented by 2-3 national team players who compete in the 54-holes stroke play over 3 rounds. The two best of the three scores each day are counted. The Queen Sirikit Cup has been dominated by Asian teams in the past decade, with Korea winning six of the last eight encounters and Chinese Taipei etching their name on the trophy in 2005 and 2006. Korea have two of their winning side back from last year including Hyo Koo Kim, who was the leading individual at New Zealand in 2010 and Ji Hee Kim who shot the joint lowest round during the Espirito Santo Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships last October, where Korea won by an extraordinary 17 shots. In 2011, the competing nations include Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Thailand. The first round begins this afternoon (AEDST) at the Delhi layout which was redesigned by Peter Thomson in 1977. Temperatures are expected to be to around 30 C.