Date: March 09, 2012

Australians stroll to Trans Tasman victory

Australia completed a dominant display over two days to win the Trans Tasman Cup in emphatic fashion, defeating New Zealand 34.5 to 13.5 at Peninsula Country Golf Club in Melbourne. Holding a 16.5 to 7.5 lead overnight, the Australians continued their impressive golf and nearly completed a clean sweep of the silverware but the New Zealanders fought back to win the Sloan Morpeth Trophy in the Open Men’scompetition. The Australian men trailed by 3 overnight but made ground on Friday morning, winning both foursomes matches. But the Kiwis held on to win by one with singles wins to Mathew Perry over Ryan McCarthy 5&4 and Vaughn McCall who won 3&2 over Nathan Holman. Jake Higginbottom defeated Ben Campbell 4&3 and Cameron Smith beat Blair Riordan 1up. The Australian women’s team claimed the Tasman Cup with an exceptional 10-2 victory. The Kiwi women won one foursomes match but it was a clean sweep in the singles with Grace Lennon winning 5&4 over Emily Perry, Adriana Brent won 2&1 over Julianne Alvarez, Ashlee Dewhurst won 4&3 over Sarah Bradley and Breanna Elliott winning4&3 over Chantelle Cassidy. In the Clare Higson Trophy, the Australian Boys team defeated New Zealand 9-3. With solid wins in the morning foursomes, the Australian boys headed into the afternoon full of confidence but the Kiwis pegged two back. Ryan Chisnall defeated Lucas Herbert 3&2 and Compton Pikari beat Anthony Murdaca 3&2. Oliver Goss defeated Sam An 3&2 while Ruben Sondjaja won 5&4 against Tyler Hodge. In the Junior Tasman Cup, Australia defeated New Zealand 10-2. After winning both Foursomes matches comfortably, Jaimee Dougan defeated Catherine Bell 3&2 and Su Hyun Oh defeated Wenyung Keh 4&3. Hannah Green and Fai Tongethri couldn’t be separated and halved their result as did Lauren Mason and Laura Hoskin. Sloan Morpeth Trophy New Zealand 6.5 defeated Australia 5.5 Tasman Cup Australia 10 defeated New Zealand 2 Clare Higson Trophy Australia 9 defeated New Zealand 3 Junior Tasman Cup Australia 10 defeated New Zealand 2