Date: November 18, 2006

Big field for Asia Pacific Senior Amateur

The 2006 Asia Pacific Senior Amateur Championship is set to get underway next week on the magnificent Legends Course at Moonah Links on the Mornington Peninsula, Victoria. The 54-hole event will be played from Tuesday 21 to Thursday 24 November. Golf Australia is hosting the Championship on behalf of the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation. This event is held on an annual basis within the Asia Pacific region and was last held in Australia in 1993 at Lake Karrinyup Country Club, Western Australia. This year&aposs event received 163 entries which was balloted to 29 players. Included in the field is defending champion Wigberto Clavecilla of the Philippines and 2003 champion, Indian Vikranjit Singh. The field also includes 2002 champion, New Zealander Rodney Barltrop and Australia&aposs own Tony Gresham. Gresham is regarded as Australia&aposs greatest post-World War II amateur. Gresham is a three-time winner of this event and also the Australian Men&aposs Amateur Championship. Thirteen teams will compete this year for the Asia Pacific Golf Confederations (APGC) Teams title including Fiji, Guam, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan and Australia. The APGC Teams Event is run over the first two rounds with the winning team being the lowest aggregate of the best two scores for the first two rounds. The two Australian teams comprise: Australia One – Denis Dale (NSW), Chris Coats (QLD), Doug Thorp (QLD) and Australia Two Brian Sams (NSW), Bill Banks (ACT) and Tony Kennings (NSW). Denis Dale won the 2006 MFS Australia Men&aposs Senior Amateur Championship Title. All were the top six-ranked players on the 2005/2006 Australia Senior Order of Merit.