Date: July 05, 2013
Author: Omnisport

Bowditch starts well at Greenbrier Classic

Tommy Gainey has birdied two of the last three holes to share the overall lead with Johnson Wagner at the Greenbrier Classic. Gainey produced a bogey-free eight-under 62, while Wagner posted an eagle three on the 12th hole to match that score at The Old White TPC, as the pair claimed a two-stroke lead over Webb Simpson and South Korea&aposs Jin Park. Australia&aposs Steven Bowditch, plus a trio of Americans Tag Ridings, Neal Lancaster and Daniel Summerhays sit a further shot back at five under after Thursday&aposs first round, while there are 12 players tied for ninth at four under. Gainey started brilliantly in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, birdying the opening two holes and finishing the front nine with another two birdies. The 37-year-old extended his run of birdies to four in a row on the 10th and 11th holes, while he picked up shots on the 16th and 17th to complete his 62. Gainey claimed a new driver was responsible for his fine driving during the first round, which saw him hit 13 of 14 fairways. Wagner blitzed the front nine at The Old White with three straight birdies from the third hole, while also picking up shots on the seventh and ninth. Another birdie on the 11th and an impressive chip-in on the 12th for eagle ensured the 33-year-old completed a bogey-free round and joined Gainey at eight under at the top of the leaderboard. Simpson also carded a bogey-free round to reach six under, while Park drew level with the 2012 US Open champion, completing his 64 with one bogey on the par-four seventh hole. Bowditch was one of the last players to complete his opening round of the Greenbrier Classic, posting a birdie on the 17th hole to reach five under after four consecutive birdies on the front nine had left the Australian with a decent shot at joining Gainey and Wagner in the lead. But a bogey on the 11th reduced Bowditch&aposs momentum and he had to settle for a share of fifth, three shots off the lead. Alistair Presnell (two under), Matt Jones (one under) and Stuart Appleby and John Senden (both even par) are the next best Australians.