Date: April 11, 2019
Author: Golf Australia

Brewer claims green jacket at The National

<image="1" align="right" />

The final round of the 2019 edition of The National Senior Masters Championship has concluded on another beautiful day on the Old Course of The National Golf Club.

Lynwood GC member Ken Brewer (NSW) has etched his name onto the silverware for the first time after he held onto his five-shot lead heading into the third round, carding  another brilliant score of 73 to finish at even-par for the tournament.

Brewer finished with 10 birdies for the tournament, five of which came in his 68 on the Old Course yesterday which proved to be the championship winning round.

Royal Canberra’s Darryl Whitehead claimed second place after he returned consistent rounds of 77, 71 and 74 for a total of 222.

Greg Rhodes rounded out another impressive tournament with a 74 today to finish third and two shots further back on 224.

Nett honours went to Dunheved GC member David McMillan (NSW) who fired rounds of 72, 69 and 74 to finish one-under his handicap for the tournament.

Second prize went to Geoffrey Beck (Victor Harbor) who finished one shot back and third place was claimed by 2018 champion Ian Frost on 218.  

Across on the Moonah course in the consolation field, the best scratch score was carded by Andrew Newbold (The Metropolitan) with a 74 off the stick.

The nett winner was Steven Sykes of Concord GC (NSW) who produced a magnificent nett 68 off a daily handicap of 7.  

The National Senior Masters championship is one of two nationally ranked senior events held in Victoria, consistently attracting a high calibre field of the top local and interstate senior male players since its inception in 2010.

The 54-hole stroke format consists of a 36-hole cut for the top 75 gross players (plus ties) rounded out with the next best nett players to a maximum of 100 players.

Golf Australia wishes to thank The National Golf Club for the first-class hospitality provided to all players and guests.

To view full results from the championship, click here.

Click here to view tournament photo gallery.