Date: March 23, 2007

Brown’s Bintan record

American Mike Cunning and New Zealand&aposs Mark Brown established a new course record of six-under-par 66 to lead the first round of the Motorola International in Bintan. The inaugural Asian Tour event saw Malaysia&aposs P. Gunasegaran and England&aposs Yasin Ali produce hole-in-ones en route to a 68 and 69 respectively. Australian Peter Fowler is tied sixth on 68 with Rick Gibson (Canada) and Lin Keng-chi (Taiwan), while Cameron Percy, Scott Hend, David Diaz and Scott Strange are just one shot behind following a good day for the Australian contingent. A two-under-par 70 also saw Aussies Brad Kennedy, Adam Groom and Adam Blyth well placed to advance up the leaderboard over the coming rounds. New Zealander Brown, a rookie on the Asian Tour, was first to set a new course mark, bettering the previous record of 68 held by Singapore&aposs Mardan Mamat. “I got out early on in the second group. Once you actually wake up after a 4.15 start, it was perfect. There was no wind and the greens were perfect. It was nice to have an early start,” said Brown. A bogey on the sixth hole woke Brown from his slumber. He chipped in for eagle on the seventh, and then birdied three of his next four holes. Motorola International Bintan -6: Mark Brown (NZL), Mike Cunning (USA) 66 -5: Kwanchai Tannin (THA), Han Lee (KOR), Ted Oh (KOR) 67 -4: Rick Gibson (CAN), Lin Keng-chi (TPE), Park Jun-won (KOR), P. Gunasegaran (MAS), Clay Devers (USA), Peter Fowler (AUS) 68 -3: Cameron Percy (AUS), Scott Hend (AUS), Yasin Ali (ENG), Jason Knutzon (USA), Angelo Que (PHI), Chapchai Nirat (THA), David Diaz (AUS), Scott Strange (AUS), Airil Rizman Zahari (MAS) 69 -2: Brad Kennedy (AUS), Tatsuhiko Takahashi (JPN), Adam Groom (AUS), Simon Griffiths (ENG), Gareth Paddison (NZL), Taichiro Kiyota (JPN), Chris Campbell (AUS), Masaya Tomida (JPN), Adam Blyth (AUS), Mo Joong-kyung (KOR), Thaworn Wiratchant (THA), Mardan Mamat (SIN), Soushi Tajima (JPN), Lin Wen-tang (TPE) 70 Also -1: Marcus Both (AUS), Lucas Parson(AUS), Stephen Jeffress(AUS), David Gleeson(AUS), Scott Barr(AUS), Tont Carolan(AUS), Unho Park(AUS) 71 E: Michael Wright(AUS), Adam Bland(AUS), Kurt Barnes(AUS), Gary Simpson(AUS), Peter Senior(AUS), Leigh McKechnie(AUS), Mitchell Brown 72(AUS) 72 2: Jarrod Mosely(AUS), Stephen Scahill (NZL), Rowan Beste(AUS) 74 3: Gavin Flint(AUS), Henry Epstein(AUS), Nevin Basic(AUS), Shane Baxter(AUS) 75 4: Ashley Hall(AUS) 76 5: Lee Won-joon(AUS), Brad Iles (NZL), Adam Le Vesconte(AUS) 77 6: Richard Moir(AUS), Troy Kennedy(AUS), Andrew Pitt(AUS) 78