Date: June 16, 2008

Canberra set to host 2013 Women’s Australian Open

Golf Australia and the ACT Government today announced they have been working together for several months to bring the Women’s Australian Open to the nation&aposs capital for the first time in 2013 to help celebrate Canberra&aposs Centenary. Chief Minister Jon Stanhope said, The four-day championship will be a major drawcard for visitors from across the region and around Australia, bringing to town local champions and leading international players of a calibre rarely seen in the national capital.” Hosting the championship would showcase Canberra to millions of television viewers across Asia and the northern hemisphere as well as receiving significant national television coverage. “We look forward to working with the Board of Golf Australia to secure the championships and deliver a spectacular event that will showcase Canberra to the world, Mr Stanhope said. Chairman of Golf Australia, Anne Lenagan said, “Golf Australia is very excited about the opportunity to partner with the ACT in Canberra&aposs centenary year and is committed to making the 2013 Women&aposs Australian Open an extremely memorable Championship.” The first Women&aposs Australia Open was first played in 1973 and won by Australian golfing icon Jan Stephenson. Since then, a host of world greats have triumphed in Australia&aposs national championship including Annika Sorenstam, Laura Davies and four-time winner Karrie Webb who memorably won her last crown in February at Kingston Heath Golf Club in Melbourne. Golf Australia and the ACT Government will now commence formal negotiations that include deciding upon a suitable venue to host the 2013 Championship.