Date: September 05, 2018
Author: Christian Puccini

Charlie and Rebekka win SA Primary Schools Champs

The SA Primary Schools Golf State Championship was held at West Beach Parks Golf on 30-31 August with Charlie Nobbs from Victor Harbor Primary School and Rebekka Stutley from Unley Primary School taking out the boys and girls championships.

The road to the Championship final saw Golf SA holding skills session across the state for close to 2,300 students, which lead to eight Metropolitan and eight Country Qualifying events from mid-June through to early August, with approximately 270 primary school students taking part.

In total 140 primary school students (108 boys and 32 girls) qualified through to the first day of the State Final at West Beach Parks Golf. 62 Metropolitan students competed in the morning while 78 country students teed off in the afternoon on the Executive Course.

Winner of the Boys Metropolitan Event (15holes) was: Fletcher Ryan (CBC) gross 59

Winner of the Boys Country Event (9holes) was: Charlie Nobbs (Victor Harbor PS) gross 36

Winner of the Girls Metro Event was: Rebekka Stutley (Unley Primary School) gross 64

Winner of the Girls Country Event (9holes) was: Armani Marsters (St Josephs – Murray Bridge)gross 34

After results from day one were tabled, 31 boys and 13 girls progressed through to the State Championship on day two on the Par 72 course while 41 players who didn’t make the championship proper played in a Golf SA Invitational event.

Players braved arctic conditions and persistent rain but to their credit finished their rounds in a timely manner.

Winner of the Boys Primary Schools Golf State Championship was Charlie Nobbs from Victor Harbor Primary School gross 82

Winner of the Girls Primary Schools Golf State Championship was Rebekka Stutley from Unley Primary School gross 83

The championships were used as the selection process for the SAPSASA team to play in the School Sport Australia 12 and Under Golf Championship from 11-15 Nov 18 in the Bellarine Peninsula, VIC.

The Boys & Girls Teams are as follows:         

Rebekka Stutley – Unley PS
Raegan Denton – Fulham Nth PS
Amy Anderson – West Lakes Shore
Zoe Manton – Scotch College

Hudson Brown – Grange PS
Joshua Grundel – Henley Beach PS
Kade Bryant – North Adelaide PS
Anthony Wong – Burnside
Fletcher Ryan – CBC
Harry Leaf-Milham – Nativity School
Jack Haberfield – Pedare CC
Jack Leonard – Emmaus CC

 For all scores CLICK HERE to visit the Championship event page.