Date: July 04, 2016
Author: Dave Tease

CHS NSW State champs decided

The Hunter region has claimed the Boy’s Title while the The Sydney West region has claimed the Girls crown at the 2016 Combined High Schools State Championships held at Tamworth Golf Club last week.

The Hunter team of Clayton Small and Will Fraser from Maitland Grossman, Isaiah Melia from Whitebridge High, and Reid Brown from Wingham High held out their metropolitan based opponents on a thrilling final day of the 3-round tournament to win by the barest of margins, 668 to 670. The Sydney West team of Bella Kil, Lucy Harris and Tylah Saifoloi had little trouble winning the Girl’s title with a score 723 from the North Coast District. The best three scores from the four players each day made up the team score.

Hunter last won the Boys crown in 2012, but dominated the championship through the early 2000’s winning six of the seven titles on offer between 2000 and 2007.

Harrison Crowe of St. Mary’s Cathedral Sydney took out the Boy’s individual honours with a score of 4-over par 214 after a four-way countback with St Johns College Dubbo’s Jones Cornerford, TLSC Tumbi Umbi Campus’ Jordie Garner and Kinross Wolaroi’s James Conran, who took second place on a countback.

Stephanie Kyriacou of the Sacred Heart College Kensington took the Girls individual prize by a shot with a score of 10-over par 226 from Bella Kil of Kellyville High School.

Following the event the NSW teams to contest the All Schools National Championships in Adelaide during August were announced. The teams are:

NSW All Schools Teams: Boys – Jordie Garner (TLSC Tumbi Umbi Campus) (captain), Harrison Crowe (St Mary’s Cathedral Sydney), James Conran (Kinross Wolaroi School), Reid Brown (Wingham HS), Jones Comerford (St John’s College Dubbo), Harry Doig (Marist College Eastwood), Thomas Heaton (Woonona HS), Will Bayliss (Knox Grammar School)

Girls – Stephanie Kyriacou (Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College Kensington), Danielle Vasquez (St Joseph’s Catholic HS Albion Park), Bella Kil (Kellyville HS), June Song (Tara Anglican School for Girls), Maddie Trew (Wollumbin HS), Monica Johnson (Our Lady of the Sacred Heart Kensington), Kelsey Bennett (St John The Evangelist HS Nowra), Cassidy Graham (Warilla HS).

CHS Honour Teams: Boys – Reid Brown (Wingham HS), Jordie Garner (TLSC Tumbi Umbi Campus), Ethan Keane (The Jannali HS), Isiah Melia (Whitebridge HS), Corey Rae (Davidson HS), Clayton Small (Maitland Grossman); Girls – Cassidy Graham (Warilla HS), Lucy Harris (Muirfield HS), Sarah Johnson (Kiama HS), Bree Purse (Moree Sec College), Maddie Trew (Wollumbin HS).