Date: October 01, 2014
Author: Golf Australia

Claney maintains lead at Men�s Senior Amateur

as another perfect day for golf as day two of the Men’s Senior Amateur Championship got underway at Mandurah Country Club. Scoring once again proved tough with quick greens making players cautious with putter in hand. With an overnight lead of three shots, Gordon Claney from Victoria fired a second round 75 to extend his lead by 1 stroke with a total score of 146. Close on his heels are Western Australian’s Harry Crosby, John Wanless and Neville Delane who are all tied second on a total of 150.

Local knowledge appears to have once again proved invaluable with the Western Australian team increasing their lead in the Interstate Stroke Teams event. The Western Australian side made up of Harry Crosby, Robin Dybeck, Trevor Hughes and Ian McPherson will take a 4 shot lead over New South Wales into the final round, but with three scores counting, the title is well and truly in the balance.

The final round is a seeded draw with the final groups battling it out for the coveted Kerry Packer trophy. With last year’s winner Murray Martin unable to defend his title this year, a new name will be added to the trophyin 2014. Time will tell whether Gordon Claney can hold onto his final round lead in what should be a great finish.

2014 Australian Men’s Senior Amateur Championship – Round 2: G Claney (VIC) 146, H Crosby (WA) 150, J Wanless (WA) 150, N Delane (WA) 150, I Mcpherson (WA) 151, D Tapper (NSW) 151, T Hughes (WA) 151, D Dale (NSW) 152, R Vandersluis (NSW) 153, G Tucker (WA) 153, M Minogue (WA) 154, B Squires (WA) 154, M Roberts (WA) 155, M Barltrop (NZL) 155, C Hallam (QLD) 155, S Ballard (NSW) 155, A Bullas (VIC) 155, S Toyne (QLD) 156, L Bockman (NSW) 156, V Clark (NSW) 157, D Burton (QLD) 157, J Ntoumenopoulos (WA) 158, S Varela (WA) 158, D Edwards (NSW) 158, D Limbach (NSW) 158, J Costello (QLD) 158, C Gordon (NSW) 159, P King (QLD) 159, J Banting (WA) 159, P Field (WA) 160, D Williams (HKG) 160, G Smith (WA) 161, D Hearsch (NSW) 161, M Peeck (QLD) 161, B Curtin (WA) 162, M Asami (VIC) 162, R Croker (NSW) 162, P Fink (VIC) 163, I Donaldson (VIC) 163, L France (WA) 163, C Higo (WA) 163, R Dybeck (WA) 164, W Clayton (WA) 164, S Wallace (VIC) 164, J Crockett (WA) 165, P Harvey-walker (NSW) 165, M Dunsmore (WA) 165, D Warburton (WA) 166, G Bowen (WA) 166, G Leary (TAS) 166, B Gamsby (WA) 167, T Musgrave (WA) 167, J Gilchrist (ACT) 167, P Thomas (NSW) 168, C Coats (QLD) 168, L Bennett (WA) 169, J Benn (NSW) 169, M Holman (CAN) 169, J Simpson (WA) 169, D Hannaford (WA) 169, P Singh (QLD) 170, I Darwen (WA) 170, T Bailey (TAS) 171, H Van De Ven (NSW) 171, T Salvarinov (WA) 171, L Maxwell (VIC) 174, P Rich (WA) 175, C Clark (TAS) 179, G Tucker (WA) 181, J Reemeyer (WA) 185, P Kelly (WA) 188, G Wright (NSW) WD.