Date: September 07, 2017
Author: Golf Australia

Claret Jug dream kicks off in Australia

The road to the 149th Open at Royal St George’s will begin at the Emirates Australian Open, the first of 15 events in 10 countries that will make up The Open Qualifying Series for 2020.

A total of 46 places in The Open are available through the Series, which provides golfers with opportunities to qualify at events around the world on the PGA TOUR, the European Tour, the PGA Tour of Australasia, the Asian Tour, the Japan Golf Tour and the Sunshine Tour.

The 2019 Emirates Australian Open, played from 5-8 December at The Australian Golf Club, will be the first chance for players to secure a place in golf’s most international major championship.

The leading three players, who finish in the top 10 and ties and who are not already exempt, will qualify for The 149th Open from 16 – 19 July 2020.


2018 – Abraham Ancer, Dimi Papadatos and Jake McLeod
2017 – Cameron Davis (T39), Matt Jones (CUT) and Jonas Blixt (CUT)
2016 – Ashley Hall (CUT), Cameron Smith (CUT) and Aaron Baddeley (T27)
2015 – Matt Jones (T39), Rod Pampling (CUT) and Nick Cullen (CUT)
2014 – Rod Pampling (CUT), Brett Rumford (T74) and Greg Chalmers (T58)
2013 – Rhein Gibson (72), John Senden (T58) and Bryden Macpherson (CUT)