Ball Moved After Loose Impediment Touched. Since the start of this year the AGU and the State Golf Associations have dealt with numerous queries regarding the deletion of the old Rule 18-2c. Rule 18-2a now covers the situation and is basically unchanged in that it penalises the player if he, his partner or either of their caddies ……causes the ball to move except as permitted by the Rules. A one-stroke penalty applies and the ball must be replaced. The old Rule 18-2c stated that if the ball, other than on a putting green, moved after the player, his partner or either of their caddies touched a loose impediment within a clublength of the ball, the player was deemed to have caused the ball to move and incurred a one stroke penalty. The ball was then to be replaced. This rule was not included in the 2004 Rules revision as ultimately it was considered to be too harsh on the player if the touching of the loose impediment was not responsible for the ball having moved. This non-inclusion however has caused a good deal of confusion due in some degree to incorrect interpretations appearing in the some magazines and newspapers. A number of golfers are under the misconception that no penalty now applies if the ball moves due to the removal of a loose impediment. Rule 23 (Loose Impediments) now refers the player to Rule 18-2a if the removal of a loose impediment causes the ball to move. In essence, the only change is that the player is not automatically penalised if the ball moves after a loose impediment within a clublength is touched, UNLESS such action caused the ball to move. If there is a doubt about what actually caused the ball&aposs movement and a loose impediment near the ball was touched, the Committee in charge should determine against the player. If the movement of the ball was caused by the wind for example, the ball is in play at its new position, is not replaced and no penalty is incurred unless the player had addressed the ball (see Rule 18-2b.). If the player had addressed the ball, he would be deemed to have caused it to move, would incur a one-stroke penalty and would be required to replace the ball, the same procedure as in 18-2a. It is suggested that clubs include this explanation in their next newsletter or on a notice board to correct what is seemingly a widespread misunderstanding.
Author: