Date: October 29, 2018
Author: Golf Queensland

Coleborn, Murdoch lead Isuzu Qld Open Pre-Q

Pre-Q Results and Qualifiers

Lochie Coleborn and Jack Murdoch have shot sizzling 65’s to take out the Isuzu Queensland Open Pre-Qualifying and earn their spot into the main field. A total of 175 players played for 29 exemptions, with amateurs nabbing 17 of the spots.

Coleborn, 19, finished two-shots clear of NSW professional Kevin Yuan and amateur Jarrod Stirling at the Nudgee Golf Club during a rain affected day.

The trio of Josh Clarke, Murray Lott, and 16-year-old amateur Elvis Smylie finished a further shot back with rounds of 3-under 68.

Matthew Toomey and Sean Daines survived a five-man playoff to secure the final two qualifying spots.

At Carbrook, Victorian amateur Jack Murdoch shot an impressive 6-under par 65 to lead the qualifiers.

Murdoch, who plays at Kingston Heath, finished two strokes clear of professionals Matthew Rogers and Paul Hayden.

Amateurs Quinnton Croker, Connor Edmonds, Tsukasa Maki and Yuji Sekito carded 71’s to share sixth among the 14 players to earn a spot at Carbrook.

In a field of 132 players, 36 amateurs will contest the professionals when play begins on Thursday at The Brisbane Golf Club.

Carbrook Qualifiers; Jack Murdoch (a), Matthew Rogers, Paul Hayden, Harvey Remfrey (a), Ryonosuke Seki, Peter Martin, Sam Burrell, Quinnton Croker (a), Connor Edmonds (a), Tsukasa Maki (a), Scott Moir, Yuji Sekito (a), Apostolos Tsolakis and Hayden Webb.

Nudgee Qualifiers; Lochlan Coleborn (a), Kevin Yuan, Jarrod Stirling (a), Josh Clarke, Elvis Smylie (a), Murray Lott, Matt Coutts (a), Nathan Barbieri (a), Joel Stahlhut (a), Joshua Gadd (a), Samuel Slater (a), Nick Russell, Simon Tooman (a), Matthew Toomey (a), and Sean Daines (a).

The 2018 Isuzu Queensland Open will be played from 1 – 4 November at The Brisbane Golf Club. Visit the website for more information.