Date: March 27, 2018
Author: Golf Queensland

Commanding Queensland team named

Fourteen of Queensland’s most talented amateur players are set to descend upon Adelaide in May for the Australian Interstate Teams Matches.

Highly regarded Sunshine Coasters Shae Wools-Cobb (Maroochy River) and Charlie Dann (Pelican Waters) are set to spearhead the Queensland Men’s team after a fantastic start to 2018, with DeeDee Russell (Brisbane) to headline the Queensland Women’s side for her 3rd representative senior team outing.

Returning for their second consecutive year will be the in-form crew of Jed Morgan (Royal Queensland), Louis Dobbelaar (Brisbane) and Lawry Flynn (Brisbane), with Doug Klein (Redcliffe) rounding out the mix in his third start.

Dynamic duo of Dylan Perry (Sanctuary Cove) and Dylan Gardner (Pelican Waters) are sure to pack a powerful swing in their Queensland representative debuts.

The Men’s Team will play at The Grange Golf Club from 8-11 May, with the recently named Queensland PGA Coach of the Year Grant Field to guide the talented team, and Matt Toomey returning as Manager.

The Women’s Team will compete at Glenelg Golf Club from 8-10 May against a strong interstate field.

Lisa Edgar (Emerald Lakes), Isabelle Taylor (Sanctuary Cove), and Sarah Wilson (Pelican Waters), are becoming regulars on the Queensland team, returning for their second senior series.

Young guns Cassie Porter (Peregian Springs) and KaYeon Park (Sanctuary Cove) will debut in their first Women’s Interstate Team Matches.

Jess Jenkins will continue to manage the Women’s side, while the 2016 PGA Teaching Professional of the Year Richard Woodhouse, will coach the team.

The Queensland Men will take inspiration from Cameron Smith’s recent success to try and emulate his team’s victory back in 2013 in Tasmania, while the Queensland Women last tasted victory back on home soil in 2016.

The Australian Men’s & Women’s Interstate Teams Matches are Australia’s premier Amateur Team Golf Championships. Each State and Territory is represented by eight men, and six women contesting singles match play, in a round robin format.


Men's Team: Women's Team:
Charlie Dann (Pelican Waters) Cassie Porter (Peregian Springs)
Doug Klein (Redcliffe) DeeDee Russell (Brisbane)
Dylan Gardner (Pelican Waters) Isabelle Taylor (Sanctuary Cove)
Dylan Perry (Sanctuary Cove) KaYeon Park (Sanctuary Cove)
Jed Morgan (Royal Queensland) Lisa Edgar (Emerald Lakes)
Lawry Flynn (Brisbane) Sarah Wilson (Pelican Waters)
Louis Dobbelaar (Brisbane)  
Shae Wools-Cobb (Maroochy River)  
Coach – Grant Field
Manager – Matt Toomey
Coach – Richard Woodhouse
Manager – Jess Jenkins