Date: September 06, 2018
Author: Golf Victoria

Davis clinches Sand Greens Championship in a thriller

<image="1" align="right" />

Mary-Anne Davis from Murray Downs has claimed the 2018 Trimax Victorian Women’s Sand Greens Championship after defeating Neangar Park’s Helen Leech in a thrilling playoff.

The pair headed down the 18th to determine the 2018 champion and it took 3 attempts for Davis to be deemed victorious.

Davis was ecstatic to have won the championship for a 3rd time and for the first time since 2010.

In her victory speech, Davis claimed that the sand greens event is “always one of the best to be involved in.”

Leech and Davis both finished on a 36-hole total of 156 and 2 shots clear of 2017 champion Martina Whelan (Grampians).

Sue Amos (Pyramid) took out the a-grade nett on a countback to Keysborough’s Kathy Naoumidis with her total of 137 off a daily handicap of 13.

In b-grade, it was Kerryn Collins (Grampians) who claimed the 36-hole gross victory with a pair of 87s for a 174 total.

B-grade nett was won by Isobel Oliver who recorded 2 outstanding rounds of 67 and 68 to finish 2 clear of Jan Hourigan (Clifton Springs).

Mary McCallum from Parklands cleaned up the prize table in c-grade by winning both the gross and nett trophies and recorded a remarkable nett 123 for the tournament.

McCallum was extremely grateful to the Maldon Golf Club for their hospitality and claimed that the unique nature of the course brought the best out of her golf.

Overwhelming praise resonated in the packed clubhouse during the afternoon presentation speeches, which is a credit to the outstanding preparation and hospitality provided by the Maldon Golf Club.

The support from naming rights sponsor Trimax and a raft of other local sponsors was also well received and greatly appreciated.

The club will open their doors again tomorrow for a social 4BBB competition before the men’s championship kicks off at midday on Saturday.

The 2019 championship will be played at Avoca Golf Club and will be held on Wednesday 4 – Thursday 5 September.

Click here for full results and here for photo gallery.