Date: May 20, 2013
Author: Golf NSW

Donohoe aspires for 8th NSW Seniors Title

Updated: 21/05/13 Women’s NSW Senior Amateur Champion Sylvia Donohoe is back not only to defend her title, but to add an impressive 8th win on the record books. This year is one of the most anticipated events as the battle begins between Sylvia and defending Australian Senior Amateur Champion, Jacqui Morgan. Morgan and Donohoe have been going head-to-head in the seniors ranks, both in NSW and nationally. Sylvia Donohoe won the Australian Women’s Senior Championships seven times (in 2011, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2005, 2002 and 2001). She was knocked off her perch defending her title in 2012 by Monash Country Club’s Jacqui Morgan. In a similar battle against Morgan, Sylvia reclaimed her Women’s NSW Senior Championships title a few months prior, to claim her seventh NSW victory after winning in 2010, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2002 and 2001. In 2011, Morgan had narrowly defeated her in the final putt to claim her first title. The inaugural Amateur Rankings Systems Winners was introduced in 2009 by Golf Australia. Sylvia took out the women’s rankings for players aged 55 years and over. Missing out on the 2010 rankings to Qld&aposs Josie Ryan, she came back to top the ranks in 2011 and 2012. It was Morgan who took the mantle by a hairline in 2013. Morgan is currently ranked #1 at 126.30 points against #2 ranked Sylvia s 126.20. Then again, with a field of the state’s 60 best female senior golfers in pursuit of the coveted prize, it is still anyone s game who can potentially etch their names on the trophy defeating the two favourites in the senior ranks.

Year / Winner

2012 – Sylvia Donohoe (Narooma) 2011 – Jacqui Morgan (Monash) 2010 – Sylvia Donohoe (Narooma) 2009 – Deirdre Brander (Newcastle) 2008 – Lynne Townsend (Wollongong) 2007 – Deirdre Brander (Newcastle) 2006 – Sylvia Donohoe (Bonnie Doon) 2005 – Sylvia Donohoe (Bonnie Doon) 2004 – Sylvia Donohoe (Bonnie Doon) 2003 – Liz Smyth (Federal) 2002 – Sylvia Donohoe (Bonnie Doon) 2001 – Sylvia Donohoe (Bonnie Doon) 2000 – Elizabeth Cavill (Manly) 1999 – Deirdre Brander (The Lakes 1998 – Gloria Hickey (Coffs Harbour) 1997 – Gloria Hickey (Coffs Harbour) 1996 – Elizabeth Cavill (Manly) 1995 – Heather Bleeck (The Australian) For further information, contact: Christy Collier, Events Manager Phone: +61 2 9505 9105 or 0412 653 000 Email: