Date: November 20, 2015
Author: Martin Blake

Eight nominated for Norman Medal


World No. 2 Jason Day heads the list of nominations for the inaugural Greg Norman Medal to be awarded next month.

Day is the raging favorite to win the award, created by the PGA of Australia and to be presented in conjunction with Australian Ladies Professional Golf during the Australian PGA Championships at Royal Pines on the Gold Coast.

The dinner and presentation are on 1 December, with Norman expected to attend and hand over the medal cut in his honor for the best Australian professional player — male or female — on the world stage in 2015.

A five-member panel has nominated eight players for 2015: Day, Adam Scott, Matt Jones, Marc Leishman, Steven Bowditch, Minjee Lee, Rebecca Artis and Karrie Webb.

The selection panel included Peter O'Malley, Ian Baker-Finch, Michael Long, Graham Marsh and Jane Crafter, with Norman himself providing further input during the process.

Day achieved his lifelong dream of reaching No. 1 in the world this year and also won his first major title, the PGA Championship, after a string of near-misses.