Date: November 03, 2016
Author: Golf Victoria

Entries closing soon – Port Phillip/Vic Am

Entries for the Men’s & Women’s 2016 Port Phillip Open Amateur & Victorian Amateur are closing soon at 5:00pm on Thursday 10 November.

The Men’s Port Phillip Amateur commenced in 1976 and has been played annually over that time at Kingston Heath and Commonwealth within Melbourne’s Sand Belt. The 72-hole Championship boasts former winners such as Mike Clayton (1977 & 1980), Brad Hughes (1987 & 1988), Craig Spence (1994), Stephen Allan (1995) and Scott Gardiner (1999).

The Women’s Port Phillip Amateur commenced in 2012 with Metropolitan’s Su-Hyun Oh winning in both 2012 and 2013. This 72-hole stroke Championship serves as the qualifying rounds for the Victorian Men's & Women's Amateur Championship.

The first Victorian Women’s Amateur Championship was played in 1894, was won by Eveline McKenzie. Eveline was also the state champion in 1895, 1896 and 1898. In its formative years, this Championship also carried with it the Championship of Australia. But on the formation of the Australian Golf Union, the two events became separate. The women’s event boast winners such as Mona MacLeod, Susie & Shirley Tolhurst, Burtta Cheney, Margaret Masters, Sandra McCaw, Lindy Goggin, Jane Lock, Louise Briers, Jane Crafter, Stacey Keating and more recently Su-Hyun Oh.

The 2016 Men’s Victorian Amateur Championship represents 115 years since the inaugural title and is the 106th time the event has been contested. The Men’s event has now produced 68 separate winners including players such as Ivo Whitton, Harry Williams, five-time British Open Champion Peter Thomson; Australia’s first British Amateur Champion Doug Bachli; founder of the Cobra Golf Company Tom Crow and noted professionals Mike Clayton, Robert Allenby, Stuart Appleby, Geoff Ogilvy, Aaron Baddeley and Marcus Fraser.

This year, the Men’s & Women’s Port Phillip Open Amateur will be played Friday 9 December – Sunday 11 December with rounds one & two staged at Kingston Heath GC & the final two rounds hosted by Commonwealth GC. The Men’s & Women’s Victorian Amateur will be staged on Monday 12 – Wednesday 14 December at Woodlands GC.

To enter via the tournament homepage & view current entrant list, click here.  

<image="2" align="left" />