Date: March 12, 2016
Author: Graeme Phillipson

Father and Son win Sand Greens Fourball Championship.

Sunday 13 March 2016

Andrew and Wayne Brennan held on to post a great father and son victory in the 2016 NSW Fourball Sand Greens Championship at Hay Golf Club.  The pair fell back to the field today with a 2 over par 34 points to post a 4 under par total. One stroke behind were defending Champions Michael and Jacob Ryan (Cobar), with Jay Egan and Chris Gilbert (also from Cobar) a further stroke behind.

In the nett event, Coonamble Golf Club's Jo Goldsmith and Thuens Jacobs won by six strokes, ahead of the Hay pairing of Colin McGufficke and Colin Tighe.  Leeton's George Vlatko and Phillip Pulen finsihed in third place.





36 Hole Scratch Winners

Andrew and Wayne Brennan


76 pts (4 under par)

36 Hole Scratch Runners Up

Jacob and Michael Ryan


75 pts (3 under par)

36 Hole Scratch Third

Jay Egan and Chris Gilbert


74 pts (2 under par)

36 Hole Nett Winners

Joseph Goldsmith and Theuns Jacobs


100 pts – 51 and 49

36 Hole Nett Runners Up

Colin Tighe and Shane McGufficke


94 pts – 48 and 46

36 Hole Nett Third

Philip Pullen and George Vlatko


94 pts – 48 and 46

Saturday – 18 hole Scratch Winners

Derek Beehan and Greg Bowkett

Howlong / Dubbo

38 pts (2 under par)

Saturday – 18 hole Nett Winners

Edward Picker and Michael Tickner


51 pts

Sunday – 18 hole Scratch Winners

Ian Armer and Colin McNamara


37 pts (1 under par)

Sunday – 18 hole Nett Winners

Jake Jones and Mathew Lane


46 pts

For event information and nett leaderboards, see


<image="2" align="left" />

Saturday 12 March 2016

After the first round today, the race for the Championship title is a close one with the Brennans(Andrew and Wayne)  from Walcha leading the way at 6 under par and last year's Champions Michael and Jacob Ryan tied w ith Howlong's Derek Beehan and Dubbo's Greg Bowkett in second place at -2.  Rodney and Neil Newton (Walgett) sit a shot adrift at 1 under par.

In the nett event, a score of 51 points was posted by Walgett's Edward Picker and Michael Tickner in the morning and this number matched by Coonamble's Theuns Jacobs and Jospeh Goldsmith.   In hot pursuit are locals Col Tighe and Shane McGufficke on 48 points, along with Leeton's Phillip Pullen and George Vlatko.

Thursday 10 March 2016

Hay Golf Club is set to host the Golf NSW Sand Greens Fourball Championship this weekend.

150 of the State’s leading sand greens golfers will contest the Championship to be played over two rounds of 18-holes (36-holes). Players will compete in both scratch and handicap events over the two days.

Last year’s Champions, Jacob and Michael Ryan of Cobar are back to defend the title they won last year at Narromine.  The Cobar team mates will face stiff opposition form Walcha’s Andrew and Wayne Brennan, who fell one shot short last year, and are aiming to go one better this year;.

Hay Golf Club last hosted the Championship in 2011. The club also hosted the inaugural J.B. Lugsdin Trophy in 2001, which was won by G. Chesire and G. Blacker (Cootamundra) and G. Willoughby and R.Hindle (Deniliquin).

For event information and leaderboards, see