Date: October 08, 2012
Author: Golf Australia

Final Round: Aussies finish 15th in Turkey

The Australian men’s team of Daniel Nisbet (QLD), Cameron Smith (QLD) and Matthew Stieger (NSW) finished in 15th place at the weather-shortened Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships in Antalya, Turkey. The Australians posted their best round of the championship with a team score of 6-under par with all three players firing rounds of 3-under par 68 at Antalya Golf Club’s Sultan Course. The round left Australia in outright 15th place at 5-under par for the championship. Smith was the leading Australian on the individual leaderboard in a tie for 13th at 5-under par. Mexican Sebastian Vazquez won the individual section at 15-under par after the three rounds. The United States claimed their 14th Eisenhower Trophy with a record-setting 54 hole score of 24-under-par 404, winning by 5 strokes from Mexico in second and Korea, Germany and France tied in third. The Australian men’s team last won the Eisenhower Trophy in 1996 in a team that included Jamie Crow, David Gleeson, Jarrod Moseley and Brett Partridge. Each team has two or three players and plays 72 holes of stroke play over four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team s score for the championship. The 2014 World Amateur Team Championships will be played in Japan.