Date: February 26, 2018
Author: PGA of Australia

Finalists named for Queensland golf awards

The Queensland Golf Industry is pleased to announce the finalists for their upcoming Awards Night incorporating the PGA Trainee graduation to be held at Star Gold Coast on Tuesday 20th March 2018. Represented by the PGA of Australia (QLD/NT), Golf Queensland, Golf Course Superintendants Association of QLD and the Golf Managers Association, the QLD Golf Industry Awards Nights acknowledges the achievements the finalists have accomplished throughout 2017.

With a large number of nominations received for each award it was encouraging to see so many individuals recognised for their tireless efforts in assisting the growth and development of golf within the state of Queensland. Having all areas of the industry being represented by the governing bodies, the night is truly an evening that is dedicated to personalities that are involved in the game whether it be playing or teaching the game, managing the facilities that allow it to be experienced or those that volunteer their time and instill so much of their passion toward assisting where needed.

The finalists for their respective awards are:


Club Professional of the Year Award

Phillip Curd – Bargara Golf Club
David Delahunty – Mt Warren Park Golf Club
Tony Di Tommaso – Carbrook Golf Club
Adam Norlander – Headland Golf Club
Paul Orchard – Surfers Paradise Golf Club
Tim Porter – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Matthew Victorsen – Emerald Golf Club
John Wright – Yamba Golf Club

Game Development Professional of the Year Award

John Collins – Brookwater Golf Club
Sean Dwyer – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Peter Heiniger – Heiniger Golf
Ian Peters – Hills Golf Academy
Matthew Victorsen – Emerald Golf Club
Atomu Watanabe – Pelican Waters Golf Club

PGA Management Professional of the Year

Luke Altschwager – Parkwood Village
Peter Clark – St Lucia Golf Club
Jeff Holloway – Chinderah Golf Club
Declan McCollam – Paradise Palms
Mark Poelstra – Riverlakes Golf Club
Paul Sanders – Sanctuary Cove Golf & Country Club

PGA Coach of the Year

Jim Barden – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Ken Berndt – Hills Golf Academy
Ben Cronk – Chinderah Golf Club
Phillip Curd – Bargara Golf Club
Grant Field – Grant Field Golf
Richard Woodhouse – KDV Sport

Trainee of the Year Award

Kylie Close
Christopher Crooks
Jacki Marshall
Ben Pisani
Charles Wright

Tournament of the Year Award

Cairns Classic – Paradise Palms
City of Brisbane Pro-Am – Victoria Park
Southport Pro-Am
Wynnum Pro Am
Yamba Pro-Am

Metropolitan Tournament of the Year Award

Maroochy River Pro Am
City of Brisbane Pro Am – Victoria Park
Southport Pro-Am
Wynnum Pro Am

Regional Tournament of the Year Award

Cairns Classic – Paradise Palms
Kooralbyn Valley Pro-Am
Murwillumbah Pro-Am
Ocean Shores Pro-Am
Rockhampton Pro-Am
Yamba Pro-Am

Legends Pro-Am of the Year Award

Australian Legends Tour Championship – Byron Bay
Cairns Classic
Noosa Legends Pro-Am
QLD Senior PGA Championship
Sunshine Coast Masters



Superintendents Achievement Award

Glenn Gibson Smith – Glades Golf Club
Col Thorsbourne – Parkwood Golf Club

Apprentice of the Year

Jonah Clancy – St Lucia Golf Club
Steven Lewis – Chinderah Golf Club
Samuel Thomson – Victoria Park Golf Complex

Industry Recognition Award

Darryl Edwards – Burleigh Golf Club
Peter Lonergan – Coolangatta Tweed Heads Golf Club


Golf Queensland

Volunteer of the Year Award

Kathleen Bell – Miriam Vale Golf Club
Jamie Sullivan – Middlemount Golf Club
Peter Turner – Stradbroke Island Golf Club



Club of the Year Award

Arundel Hills Country Club
Ballina Golf & Sports Club
Cairns Golf Club
City Golf Club
Keperra Golf Club
Links Hope Island
Parkwood Golf Club
Southport Golf Club
Victoria Park Golf Commplex

Manager of the Year Award

Luke Altschwager – Parkwood Golf Club
Nik Robinson – Southport Golf Club
Paul Sanders – Sanctuary Cove Golf & Country Club
Scott Wagstaff – Carbrook Golf Club

Board Member of the Year Award

Geoff Barnes – Ballina Golf & Sports Club
Carolyn McIlvenny – McLeod Country Golf Club
Tony Merrell – Ipswich Golf Club
Paul Rigby – Nudgee Golf Club

Staff Member of the Year Award

Belinda Dare – Gordonvale Golf Club
Camille Ferrone – Carbrook Golf Club
Ashlee Kachel – Links Hope Island
James King – Gailes Golf Club
Tim Lynch – Victoria Park Golf Complex
Kate Ross – Emerald Lakes Golf Club
Suzanne Walker – Twin Waters Golf Club
Andrew Webb – City Golf Club


QLD Golf Industry Awards

Supplier of the Year Award

Coca Cola Amatil
Golf Industry Central

Junior Golf Program of the Year Award

Bargara Golf Club
Brookwater Golf Club
Cairns Golf Club
Emerald Golf Club
Pelican Waters Golf Club
Peregian Golf Course
Victoria Park Golf Complex

Many of the winners for other awards have already been finalised based on specific criteria and will be announced on the night.

Tickets for this prestigious evening are available either online by clicking here or contacting the PGA of Australia – QLD Office on 07 5657 6100 or

For further information please contact:
Justin Maker – PGA QLD/NT – 0438 619 188