Date: July 03, 2018
Author: Mark Hayes

Form foursome earn Aussie Crown selection

Australia will field an in-form quartet at this year's UL International Crown in Korea.

The team, announced near Chicago overnight, will feature West Australian Minjee Lee, Queenslanders Katherine Kirk and Sarah Jane Smith and Victorian Su Oh.

The biennial team competition will be held from October 4-7 at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon City, near Seoul.

Befitting the team's outstanding individual form, Team Australia will be seeded fifth in the eight-team event, a far cry from battling for qualification when the event was most recently held in 2016.

The other countries that qualified were Korea, United States of America, Japan, England, Thailand, Sweden and Taiwan.

Lee and Kirk, by virtue of respective wins on the LPGA Tour in the past year, had long held world rankings that guaranteed their positions on the Australian team.

But Smith and Oh have both displayed great form lately, including in major championships, to ensure they held out LPGA Tour rookie Hannah Green for the final berths.

Smith, up to No.70 in the world rankings after her T11 finish at last week's Women's PGA Championship, was clearly delighted in making the Australian team for the first time.

"CAN NOT WAIT!!!!" Smith tweeted.

"Looking forward to representing Australia with these awesome ladies."

Lee, in her third time at the International Crown, was also primed.

"Can’t wait to represent Australia for the UL International Crown in Korea this year," the Perth ace tweeted.

The other teams are:

Korea (1 seed): Inbee Park, So Yeon Ryu, Sung Hyun Park and In-Kyung Kim.

USA (2): Lexi Thompson, Jessica Korda, Cristie Kerr, Michelle Wie.

Japan (3): Nasa Hataoka, Ai Suzuki, Misuzu Narita, Mamiko Higa.

England (4): Charley Hull, Georgia Hall, Jodi Ewart Shadoff, Bronte Law.

Thailand (6): Ariya Jutanugarn, Moriya Jutanugarn, Pornanong Phatlum, Sherman Santiwiwatthanaphong.

Sweden (7): Anna Nordqvist, Pernilla Lindberg, Madelene Sagstrom, Caroline Hedwall.

Taiwan (8): Teresa Lu, Wei-Ling Hsu, Hsuan-Yu Yao, Candie Kung.