Date: October 04, 2012
Author: Stephen Pitt

From the CEO’s desk: October 2012

No sooner has spring sprung and we’re back talking about another upcoming summer showcase of Australian tournament golf to look forward to and I know people can hardly wait for our best players to come home and play.

This year’s Emirates Australian Open will be a special one – a parade of champions – and we recently announced that Adam Scott, Tom Watson, Geoff Ogilvy and defending champion Greg Chalmers are among the early big names to commit to the championship.

It’s nearly 30 years since Tom won the Open at Royal Melbourne in 1984. He also returned a year later in 1985 and finished sixth at the same venue. In December at The Lakes will be the first time he’s played in Australia in a decade.

Adam Scott, our 2009 champion, returns after a headline year including his heart-stopping runner up finish to Ernie Els at The Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes.

By the time you read this there should also be more news of other international players who will be in Sydney and an update on our TV broadcast arrangements for the 2012 championship.

Our priority is showcasing the Open to all Australians and we’re pleased to say we’ve achieved a great outcome for all golf and sport fans.

While we’re on the topic of Open golf, we recently launched the 2013 ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open in Canberra with ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher and it has all the makings of another terrific event.

Again the season opening event on the LPGA Tour, it will be the first time the Women’s Open has come to Canberra and we’re delighted with the excitement and passion we’ve seen from people across Canberra for the championship which will kick off the city’s major centenary celebrations.

ISPS will continue for a fourth consecutive year as title sponsor and their support has had an exceptional impact on both the tournament and women’s golf in Australia.

As you read this the World Amateur Team Championships should be underway in Turkey with our Australian men’s and women’s teams hoping for great results in the pinnacle teams event in international amateur golf.

Australia will be represented by Daniel Nisbet (Queensland), Cameron Smith (Queensland) and Matthew Stieger (New South Wales) at the Eisenhower Trophy while Breanna Elliott (Victoria), Whitney Hillier (Western Australia) and Min Jee Lee (Western Australia) will represent Australia at the Espirito Santo Trophy.

Good luck and play well!