Date: June 28, 2008

Gleeson, Park five off the pace

Australians David Gleeson and Unho Park remain in with a slender chance of victory after drawing within five shots of the lead after the third round of the Thailand PGA Championship. Veteran Gleeson fired a blistering five-under-par 67 to claim a share of sixth place alongside compatriot Unho Park, who followed up with a two-under 70, and Thailand&aposs Pariya Junhasavasdikul at nine-under. They trail joint leaders Mo Joong-kyung (69) from Korea and Filipino Juvic Pagunsan (71), who sit at the head of the field at 14-under. Mo pulled level with overnight leader Pagusan as he seeks his first Asian Tour win since the Guam Open back in 1996. Thai star Prayad Markaeng slipped down into a tie for third after hitting a one-over 73, joining Malaysia&aposs Ben Leong and American Han Lee on 11-under, three shots off the pace. Thirty-six-year-old Mo made his push for the top of the leaderboard on the back nine, hitting an eagle and three birdies to counter a pair of bogeys. “The front nine is so tough and I told myself to shoot two or three under on the back nine as there are some par fives which are reachable in two,” said Mo. “I&aposm pleased with the way I played. I&aposve not won for a long time on the Asian Tour but I&aposve won four times in Korea since that win, the last being in 2006. We&aposll see what happens tomorrow.” Australians Terry Pilkadaris and Adam Groom are at five-under, nine shots off the pace. Third round scores from the Singha Thailand PGA Championship -14: Juvic Pagunsan (Philippines) 68 63 71, Mo Joong-kyung (Korea) 69 64 69 -11: Ben Leong (Malaysia) 69 70 66, Han Lee (USA) 68 69 68, Prayad Marksaeng (Thailand) 67 65 73 -9: Pariya Junhasavasdikul (Thailand) 72 70 65, David Gleeson (Australia) 68 72 67, Unho Park (Australia) 67 70 70 -8: Choengchai Panpumpo (Thailand) 70 71 67 -7: Guido Van Der Valk (Netherlands) 72 69 68, Prom Meesawat (Thailand) 70 70 69, Thaworn Wiratchant (Thailand) 70 68 71 -6: Antonio Lascuna (Philippines) 72 68 70, Lien Lu-sen (Chinese Taipei) 67 71 72, Arjun Singh (India) 68 69 73, Thammanoon Srirot (Thailand) 68 70 72 -5: Kao Bo-song (Chinese Taipei) 69 73 69, Terry Pilkadaris (Australia) 67 73 71, Adam Groom (Australia) 71 69 71, Lu Wei-chih (Chinese Taipei) 70 70 71, Wisut Artjanawat (Thailand) 68 71 72, Chang Tse-peng (Chinese Taipei) 68 69 74