Date: November 19, 2012
Author: Golf Australia

Golf Australia announces new Directors

Following today s Annual General Meeting, Golf Australia is pleased to announce the election of two new directors to the Board of Golf Australia. The new directors are Robert Crosby and Dr Jill Spargo. Robert spent more than 30 years at National Australia Bank in a variety of senior management positions. He is a former Board member of Golf South Australia and has been actively involved in handicapping, course rating, rules and amateur status committees at state and national level. Jill is a medical practitioner based in Melbourne and has been a board member of Women’s Golf Victoria and Golf Victoria and served on a range of governance committees. She is also a course design consultant for women’s golf for Ogilvy Clayton Golf Design. Golf Australia Chairman John Hopkins said he was pleased to welcome the new directors. We are delighted to be able to welcome Robert and Jill to the Board, Hopkins said. Robert and Jill have extensive grassroots experience in Australian golf, having worked at both club and state level in addition to their professional experience. Their knowledge will be a valuable asset to Golf Australia as we continue our work to increase participation and further grow the game. Golf Australia would like to thank outgoing Board members Anne Lenagan and Bruce Langford-Jones for their dedication and passion in their roles over several years. The new Board positions take effect immediately. Golf Australia Board John Hopkins (Chairman) Stuart Cox Robert Crosby John Karren Michael Sammells Carmel Smith Jill Spargo Malcolm Speed