Date: October 30, 2013
Author: Golf NSW

Golf NSW welcomes Andrew Tharle as its new Director

Golf NSW welcomes Andrew Tharle from Canberra as its new Board Member. Andrew has been a member of Royal Canberra Golf Club for 26 years. During that time he served on the Board and as Vice-Captain. He also spent a number of years on the Finance and Match Committees. This was a critical period for the Club as it was rebuilding its clubhouse and building an additional nine holes. Andrew is passionate about junior and regional golf development. He is an active participant in the junior mentor program and stated I believe juniors and regional golf is extremely important to the growth of golf. This is displayed through his attendance at regional golf events where possible, including sand greens events. He has spent twenty years in public service in a range of management and executive positions with a focus on financial management. He is currently the Head of the Finance and Commercial Services area at the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. This position requires him to show leadership and he is required to set longer term goals. He has also been a member of the Australian Society of CPA s for almost twenty years. His exposure to interclub and interstate golf, together with his experience as a Board Member at Royal Canberra Golf Club and strong financial background will no doubt make him an effective contributor as a Director of Golf NSW. Three nominations were received for the three vacancies for the positions of Director of Golf NSW. As no further nominations were received, all three applicants were elected unopposed. Andrew and both re-elected Directors Sue Fabian and Jean Moran will serve for a term of two (2) years. The Golf NSW Board thanked retiring Director and Chairman of Finance John Waanders for his role on the Board and awarded him with a Life Membership. John has been a stalwart of golf in the Newcastle Region, serving in numerous roles. He has been involved with the state body for over a decade, served as a Board and Council Member on the Men’sAssociation before being elected to the Board of Golf NSW in 2010. We are all indebted to John for his contribution to golf in this State. The nine Directors who form the 2013-2014 Golf NSW Board are Chris Allen (Pennant Hills), Sue Fabian (Pennant Hills), Frank Gal (Richmond), Alan Harrison (Federal), Jean Moran (Shelly Beach), Lynne Ritchie (Lithgow), John Robinson (Elanora & The Australian), Andrew Tharle (Royal Canberra) and Darrell Watts (Murwillumbah).