Date: February 15, 2018
Author: Golf Queensland

Golf Queensland announces Junior Interstate Teams

Golf Queensland is pleased to announce the 2018 Queensland Boys’ and Girls’ Interstate Teams to contest the Australian Interstate Team Matches in April.

Six fresh faces are set to make their representative debuts when the championship heads to Perth.

Louis Dobbelaar, Tyler Duncan, and Mitchell Varley will be joined by newcomers Elvis Smylie, Lewis Hoath and Ryan Stitt to play Hartfield Golf Club from 16 – 19 April. The team will be coached by Chris Gibson.

Isabelle Taylor, Cassie Porter and Sarah Wilson have once again earned representative honours in the Girls’ Interstate Team. They will play with debutants KaYeon Park, Hannah Reeves, and Lion Higo at Royal Perth Golf Club from 15 – 17 April. The team will be coached by Virginia Irwin.

Golf Queensland’s High Performance Program Manager, Tony Meyer said the teams showcased the depth of junior talent in Queensland.

“We have such great junior golfers in this state, so choosing these teams is never an easy task. This is an exciting opportunity for our six new players and it is a testament to their hard work on and off the course,” said Meyer.

“The Australian Interstate Team Matches is the perfect tournament for all these players to further develop and compete against the excellent crop of junior talent from around Australia.

“We have high expectations for the team’s, and I’m certain they will make themselves, and their state proud.”

In addition to the representative teams, two male and female development players have also been selected to travel with their respective Junior State Teams to compete in the Australian Junior Amateur Championship. The development squad includes Blaike Perkins, Kyle Gray, Justice Bosio and Brianna Edgar.

The Australian Boys’ & Girls’ Interstate Teams Matches are Australia’s premier Junior Amateur Team Golf Championships. Each State and Territory is represented by six players with five players contesting singles match play, in a round robin format.

Boys' Team: Girls' Team:
Louis Dobbelaar (Brookwater) Isabelle Taylor (Sanctuary Cove)
Lewis Hoath (Emerald Lakes) Cassie Porter (Peregian Springs)
Elvis Smylie (Southport) Sarah Wilson (Pelican Waters)
Tyler Duncan (Redcliffe) KaYeon Park (Sanctuary Cove)
Ryan Stitt (Burleigh) Hannah Reeves (Hills International)
Mitchell Varley (Sanctuary Cove) Lion Higo (Emerald Lakes)

Stacey White (Pacific)