Date: July 18, 2013
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Golf SA Invitational Team defeat the ADF Golf Team

SA Team (L-R) Deacon, Thorne, Timmins, Cherry, Fuller, Baker, Hook, Johnston, Heikkonen, Everett (absent – Weckert & Riches) The inaugural Golf SA v Australian Defence Force (ADF) Match was played on Mon 15th and Tue 16th July at Tea Tree Gully Golf Club, with the Golf SA side winning overall 15 matches to 9. The ADF Golf Team, a Combined Services team, has been conducting matches against Golf NSW since 1988, Golf Victoria since 1989 and the Australia Seniors Order of Merit Team since 2006. This year Golf SA was asked to fill the void left by Golf Queensland who played the ADF between 2005 – 2012. The South Australian team Managed and Captained by SA Golf Industry Hall of Fame Member David Cherry, consisted of 12 invited players, including Mark Deacon undefeated in Simpson Cup in 2012, Captain of The Grange Adrian Johnston, Media personality and Captain of Mount Osmond Ben Hook, Golf SA Board Member Tony Timmins and Chris Everett, Senior Golf Committee Member. Players selected in the SA team (handicap range plus 2 to 6) were commensurate to those selected by ADF who select their team from the previous year 72 hole National Championship, which is held at Federal Golf Club in Canberra each December. Day 1 – Mon 15 Jul 2013 – Fourball & Foursomes Match Play The ADFGA had a solid start, taking an early lead in the morning fourball matches 4 to 2, with all matches very close, 3 matches being decided on the 18th. In the afternoon, the foursomes were squared 3 matches each, giving the ADFGA a two point lead going into the final singles matches in the morning. Day 2 – Tues 16 Jul 2013 – Singles Match Play Requiring 8 of the 12 singles matches for victory, Golf SA dominated the day winning 10 – 2 to defeat the ADFGA 15 to 9 overall. All players competed in the right spirit, with plenty of new friendships formed. Thank you to Tea Tree Gully Golf Club for hosting the event and the support they provided throughout. Final Results Day 1 – Fourball (am) ADFGA 4 v Golf SA 2 A. Ezergallis / R. Halliday Defeated H. Riches / T. Baker 1 Up J. Virgin / A. Stevens Lost to L. Fuller / M. Deacon 1 Dn B. Creek / N. Jago Defeated C. Everett / C. Weckert 1 Up B. Spencer / G. Roddy Defeated R. Thorne / A. Johnston 4 & 3 M. Bogan / D. Sgalippa Lost to D. Cherry / K. Heikkonen 2 & 1 D. Mitra / S. Sparks Defeated B. Hook / T. Timmins 2 & 1 Day 1 – Foursomes Match Play (pm) ADFGA 3 v Golf SA 3 A. Ezergallis / B. Creek Lost to H. Riches / L. Fuller 3 & 2 J. Virgin / N. Jago Lost to T. Baker / M. Deacon 3 & 2 B. Spencer / A. Stevens Defeated C. Weckert / K. Heikkonen 1 Up D. Sgalippa / D. Mitra Defeated D. Cherry / C. Everett 3 & 2 M. Bogan / R. Halliday Defeated B. Hook / A. Johnston 4 & 3 G. Roddy / S. Sparkes Lost to R. Thorne / T. Timmins 5 & 4 Day 2 – Singles Match Play ADFGA 2 v Golf SA 10 A. Ezergallis Lost to H. Riches (Kooyonga) 4 & 3 J. Virgin Lost to T. Baker (Kooyonga) 3 & 2 B. Creek Lost to L. Fuller (Royal Adelaide) 2 & 1 B. Spencer Defeated M. Deacon (Highercombe) 1 Up M. Bogan Lost to C. Everett (Tea Tree Gully) 5 & 4 G. Roddy Lost to Z. Amundson (Tea Tree Gully) 6 & 5 D. Mitra Defeated K. Heikkenen (Blackwood) 1 Up D. Sgalippa Lost to R. Thorne (Loxton) 1 Up N. Jago Lost to A. Johnston (The Grange) 6 & 5 R. Halliday Lost to D. Cherry (Royal Adelaide) 3 & 2 A. Stevens Lost to B. Hook (Mt Osmond) 7 & 6 S. Sparks Lost to T. Timmins (Kooyonga) 1 Up Players from both sides pictured