Date: May 28, 2014
Author: Christian Puccini / Golf SA

Golf SA Metropolitan Pennant – Round 2 Summary

Jack WIlliams putting on the 9th at Glenelg in the 2013 Simpson Cup final

The Grange sit at the top of the Simpson Cup table as the only undefeated team after 2 rounds, with all other clubs bar Glenelg now having recorded one win.  

In one of the early matches at Tea Tree Gully, starting off the 1st tee, Grange continued its winning form by defeating Royal Adelaide 6 – 1. 

Without State Number 1 player Anthony Murdaca, who departed after round 1 for a 3 month stint competing overseas, The Grange was still able to field a very strong team bringing in Scott Webb at number 7, who won over Nathan Baulderstone 2&1.

At Number 6 Stephen Hudson gained Royal Adelaide’s sole victory against Ben Tucker 3&1 before NA, Stowe, Lisk, Crowder and Williams overpowered their opponents to win the top 5 matches for The Grange.

In the other early match, Blackwood defeated The Stirling 4 – 3 after The Stirling held a 3 – 0 lead. Coming down to the final match of the contest, at number 1, Andrew Humphries managed to haul his side over the line on the 18th to win 1 up.

Other winners for Blackwood were Michael Munn 4&3 over Ramon Thorne, Nicholas Wake 4&3 against David Henshaw and Daniel Loveridge 6&4 over Tim Atze.

The clash between local rivals Tea Tree Gully and Highercombe was billed as the match of the round, however Tea Tree Gully proved to be far too strong winning 6.5 – 0.5.

Rebounding from last week’s disappointing showing against Royal Adelaide, the Gullies brought Luke Steele and Matthew McMahon into the side. At number 2 Steele defeated Nick May 3&2 and McMahon defeated Andrew Couzner 5&4 at number 7.

The halved match was between Chris Noon and Adam Husdell.

In the final match of round 2, Kooyonga overcame Glenelg 4 – 3.

Glenelg appears to be replicating its 2010-2012 form, where their opening win came in round 4 in each of those seasons, although the side has had its chances to hit the scoreboard in the opening two rounds.

Against Kooyonga, Glenelg won matches 6 (Leigh Attenborough), 5 (Josh Hayes) and 2 (Matt Overall) but was again unable to secure the important 4th match to claim victory.

Kooyonga’s Jordan Bishop, Daniel Speirs and Heath Riches all had wins and William Somerfield in the important top position defeat a gallant Campbell Rawson to hand victory to Kooyonga, to kick start their season.

Next week’s round three matches are held at Blackwood with the host side primed for a battle with top placed Grange. In other matches, Tea Tree Gully plays Glenelg and Royal Adelaide comes up against The Stirling. The match between Kooyonga and Highercombe should be closer than last season’s 7 – 0 win in favour of Kooyonga.

For all results and draws > click here for the Pennant Competition main page.

For a PDF version of Simpson Cup Results > click here

Round 3 (1st June at Blackwood GC)

1st Tee 9.30 am           Blackwood v The Grange
1st Tee 10.25 am         Tea Tree Gully v Glenelg
1st Tee 11.20 am         Royal Adelaide v The Stirling
1st Tee 12.15 pm         Kooyonga v Highercombe