Date: May 18, 2016
Author: Christian Puccini

Golf SA Pennant Simpson Cup – Round 1 Summary

Round one of the Simpson Cup (Men's A Grade Pennant) was played in perfect conditions on Sunday 15 May at Kooyonga Golf Club.

In a rematch of last year’s grand final, premiers Kooyonga took the points over The Grange 4-3, while all other matches went as expected, with Glenelg too strong for Tea Tree Gully 5.5-1.5, Blackwood comfortably over newcomers Southern 5-2 and Royal Adelaide just falling across the line 4-3 over The Vines.

In the opening match of the season, off the first tee, Grange number seven Scott Webb notched up his team’s first point of the year defeating Craig Weckert 6&4. Kyle Hayter then hit back for Kooyonga winning 9&8, before Alex Hendrick gave The Grange a 2-1 lead, defeating Geoff Brennan 2up.

However, Kooyonga’s middle order of Heath Riches, Joe Hodgson and Sam Inglis all won their matches to steer the home side across the line. Grange picked up their third match courtesy of a win to state Captain Matthew Lisk 7&6 over Will Somerfield.

In their match versus Tea Tree Gully, Glenelg led from the outset with Ben Hallam wining 2&1 at number seven, while Jackson Kalz, playing his debut Simpson Cup match for the Club, won 6&5.

At number five, team Captain Anthony Olsen continued his form from last season winning 5&4 and when Josh Hayes won his match 6&4 against Nick May, Glenelg had secured the tie.

Ben Layton at number three also making his Simpson Cup debut, won 5&4 against Gullies joint Captain Matt McMahon.

Current SA Amateur Champion, Lachlan Barker at number two had an intense battle against Tea Tree Gully opponent Sam Burton. Barker gained a two hole advantage after 16 but Burton fought back to birdie the last two holes to finish all square.

Two-time SA Amateur Champion Chris Austin, was the only winner for TTG defeating Sam Earl at number one. Earl another player representing Glenelg for the first time after coming from The Vines, brought the match back to square after eleven, but Austin proved too strong winning 3&2.

Blackwood started their season on the right note with a comfortable 5-2 win against A2 Premiers Southern.

Blackwood’s bottom four players in Ben Tobin, Matthew Monsma, Daniel Wake and Michael Munn all notched up wins to give Blackwood an unassailable lead. Nick Wake also won at number one, 4&3 against James Brown while Southern’s winners were Jared Thoman and Chris Burns.

It was neck and neck in the final match of the round between Royal Adelaide and The Vines with Royal coming up trumps 4-3.

It was the start Royal Adelaide was looking for after being winless after the first four rounds last season.

The contest was tied three-all with Matthew Bell 4&3, Michael Bruggeman 3&1 and Tony Nobbs 3&2 winning for The Vines and Nathan Baulderstone 2up, Josh Groom 5&3 and number one, Billy Cawthorne 6&5 securing wins for Royal Adelaide.  

It would come down to the number two match between Patric Kroschel and Corey Apthorpe to decide the contest. In an even battle Kroschel secured the victory 1up.      

Next week’s round two matches are held at Blackwood with all winning sides from round one playing all those defeated. The host side is set for an enthralling contest with Tea Tree Gully which could go either way. In other matches, Kooyonga do battle against The Vines and Glenelg play Southern. The match of the round will be between last year’s finalists The Grange and Royal Adelaide.

For all results and draws > click here for the Pennant Competition main page.

For a PDF version of Simpson Cup Results > click here

Round 2 – (22nd May at Blackwood GC)
1st Tee 9.30am            Blackwood v Tea Tree Gully
1st Tee 10.25 am         Kooyonga v The Vines
1st Tee 11.20 am         Glenelg v Southern
1st Tee 12.15 pm         The Grange v Royal Adelaide