Date: November 30, 2016
Author: Christian Puccini

Golf SA Senior Pennant – 10 in a row for Tea Tree Gully

WINNERS: Tea Tree Gully 5 v The Grange 2

In the PARADISE MOTORS MAZDA Pennant final played at Kooyonga Golf Club on Monday 28 November, Tea Tree Gully won yet another premiership by defeating The Grange 5 to 2.  

The win is Tea Tree Gullies 10th consecutive Senior Pennant victory. TTG has won every title since the inception of senior pennants in Adelaide in 2007, a record the club and players can be rightly very proud of.

Both final teams qualified for the premiership decider from the same division by both winning their semi-final matches played at Mount Osmond the previous Monday.

In the Semi’s, TTG overcame Blackwood 4.5 v 2.5 whilst the Grange defeated Glenelg 6 v 1.

Tea Tree Gully won seven from seven in the minor round winning their section while The Grange finished second on the table with five wins.

The defending champions started the final clear favourites however only defeated The Grange 4v3 in their minor round clash in round three, so a close final was anticipated.

Kym Meyer had an early win for The Grange at number seven, defeating Robert Crawford 4&3, before Tea Tree Gully number one player John Davey proved too strong for Eric Lane winning 6&5 to square the ledger.

TTG claimed the next two matches courtesy of 4&3 victories to Ken Brown and Michael Richards to edge ahead 3-1.

Martin Miller at number three then secured the vital fourth point for TTG winning 4&2 against Peter Sossic. In doing so match four between Chris Everett and Mark Griffiths and Norm Cordina and William Winslow were halved resulting in the 5-2 score line.

“It was a great day, played in great spirit. We were very fortunate to win. We have a very keen bunch of good quality seniors who want to play for the club so we are very satisfied and proud of the 10 titles”. said TTG number 4 – Chris Everett.

“We are challenged each year and enjoy the challenge as we have to be on our game to be out in front. This whole season is played in tremendous spirit and is keenly fought. It’s fantastic, something special especially the final with all 16 teams coming together.” Everett added.

For the record the team played nine matches through the season and we were winners in 46 out of 63 individual games and halving 9. A record to be proud of.

In the PARADISE MOTORS MAZDA PLATE, an aggregate team stableford competition held on the day for the 14 remaining teams, Kooyonga won with an aggregate score of 205 points for their 7 players.

Full Result > HERE