Date: July 12, 2017
Author: Golf Victoria

Golf Victoria officially welcomes new Board members

Golf Victoria would like to formally thank the four outgoing members of its Board and officially welcome the elected replacements.

President Stephen Spargo, who is entering his second year as the head of Golf Victoria’s Board, said this year’s additions to the Board mark the completion of a Board succession plan which began in 2016. 

“To complete the planned succession arrangements, at this year's AGM, former Vice-President Sue Rea and former directors Brian Lasky and Harvey Ashton retired and vacated their positions on the Board, while former director Murray Cropley retired from the GV Board following the 2017 Oates Vic Open.”

Spargo thanked the outgoing quartet for their guidance at Board level, especially following the amalgamation of women's and men's golf in Victoria.

“Those retiring from the GV Board as part of these succession plans are to be thanked not only for enabling these arrangements to be put in place but also for the outstanding contribution each of them has made as directors of GV to further GV's operations and development,” he said. 

Ross Anderson, Cindy McLeish MP, Dorothy Hisgrove and Prof. David Shilbury have been elected to replace the departing directors and Golf Victoria would like to formally welcome and congratulate the new Board members.

Ross Anderson took up the game as a 14-year-old junior member at Mornington Golf Club, eventually graduating as a PGA member in 1993 after an apprenticeship at Woodlands Golf Club.

He was appointed as Metropolitan Golf Club’s Head professional a year later, but made a career switch to banking and finance in 2006 and is currently a Director (Relationship Manager) at Westpac's Institutional Bank.

Cindy McLeish MP is the inaugural State Member for Eildon, after winning the 2014 election in the new district. Prior to that, McLeish was elected as the Member for Seymour in the 2010 Victorian State election.

Prior to being elected to Parliament, McLeish served as the CEO of Women’s Golf Victoria from 2002 until 2006.

Dorothy Hisgrove's current role is Chief Human Resources Manager with PWC, but previously she was a member of the AFL Executive and the General Manager People, Customer and Community at the AFL.

She also has experience with senior management roles with Australia Post, National Australia Bank and BHP Billiton. 

Prof. David Shilbury is currently the Director of the Deakin Sport Network after a long career at Deakin University.

He is a former member of the Victorian Sports Council and AFL Tribunal, as well as a board member of the Confederation of Australian Sport in 2005. Shilbury has also worked for the Australian Cricket Board, WA Cricket Association and WA Golf Association.

Click here to find out more about each of Golf Victoria’s Board members.