Date: September 20, 2017
Author: Tony Durkin

Invincibles Tour hosts Junior Masters

The 14th playing of the Sunshine Coast Junior Masters Golf Championship will be contested from this coming Sunday (September 24) on four of the most prestigious resort courses in Queensland.

Twin Waters, Pelican Waters, Peregian Golf Course and Noosa Springs will host the four-day event and, in true Masters-style, the male and female winner will be presented with a perpetual crystal trophy and a Masters jacket.

The first round will be played at Twin Waters, followed by Pelican Waters on Monday, Peregian Springs on Tuesday, with the Masters wrapping up at Noosa Springs on Wednesday.

And returning to defend her title will be 2016 Masters winner Cassie Porter, who shot 10 over last year to win by five strokes. Cassie also won the Katherine Kirk Classic at Maroochy River during the week, shooting a final round 68.

Unfortunately defending male champion, Lochie Coleborn, who was just one over par for the 72-hole event to win by nine shots in 2016, has turned 18 and is ineligible to compete for the Masters title again.

“I just love competing at the Masters,” said Cassie, a member at Peregian Golf Course.

“What the Invincibles team does to prepare for this unbelievable championship is quite remarkable. Getting to play on courses of this quality is amazing and we are so lucky to have these incredible opportunities right here on the Sunshine Coast.”

The Invincibles IGA Junior Masters is a unique 72-hole championship contested over four days on the four respective championship courses. To be eligible for the maximum 30-player field golfers must have won a Junior Classic or Open event at a Sunshine Coast golf club during the past 12 months.

Invincibles president and founder, Graeme Miller, says the cream of Queensland’s young golfers has contested the event over the past 14 years, but such is the strength of the competition that few of the big names have been winners.

Among those to have played but not won the Masters are Cameron Smith, Charlie Dann, Shae Wools-Cobb, Jed Morgan, Rhianna Maree-Lewis and Sarah Wilson. Lochie Coleborn and Karis Davidson are the only players to have won the event twice.

While Cassie Porter will start red-hot favourite to go back-to-back, Lion Higo (Emerald lakes) and Caitlyn Campbell-Nyman (Pacific) are among the talented group of challengers. Noosa’s Christian Butterworth will be one of the main contenders among the boys, with Ben Stieler (Brookwater) and Bailey Arnott (Royal Queensland) expected to provide tough opposition.

The respective winners in 2017 receive automatic exemption into the event next year, as well as having their names engraved on the perpetual crystal trophies. As an enduring reminder of their achievement the winners also receive a framed photograph in their Masters jackets

The Masters Championship male and female nett winners both also receive an engraved crystal trophy.