Warning: date_format() expects parameter 1 to be DateTimeInterface, bool given in /home/archiveg/public_html/wp-content/themes/golf/custom_pages/content-post.php on line 18

Jager and Pratt set for St Andrews Links Trophy

St Andrews Links Trophy Website Srixon Australian Amateur champion Matt Jager (WA) and Victorian Kieran Pratt are among the headline Australians to play at this weekend&aposs St Andrews Links Trophy. Jager, who also won the Srixon Australian Stroke Play championship and successfully defended his New Zealand Amateur Championship title, will make the St Andrews Links Trophy the first stop in his tour of the United Kingdom. Pratt is the Victorian Amateur champion, Dunes Medallist and Lake Macquarie Amateur champion. Both Jager and Pratt were selected in the initial Australian squad for the Eisenhower Trophy at this year&aposs World Amateur Team Championships in Argentina. Since its inception in 1989, the St Andrews Links Trophy has attracted the world s top amateurs, many of whom have gone on to enjoy success on the PGA and European Tours, notably Ernie Els, Lee Westwood, Trevor Immelman, Geoff Ogilvy, Padraig Harrington and Justin Rose. The R&A World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) ranks the St Andrews Links Trophy as one of the strongest amateur tournaments in the world, based on strength of field, and it is arguably one of the strongest outside the Amateur Championship in the British Isles. This year s tournament will take place from Friday 4 Sunday 6 June.