Date: January 04, 2010

January sets pace for new year of golf

With the new year just days old, January promises to be an exciting start to 2010 with a huge package of golf action across Australia. The action begins on Monday as Cameron Smith (QLD) and Jessica Park (QLD) get set to defend their Queensland Boys and Girls Amateur Championship titles. The Boys&apos championship will be played at Indooroopilly Golf Club and the Girls&apos championship will be played at Gailes Golf Club. The Boys&apos Victorian Junior Masters will also be held at Waverley Golf Club in Melbourne this week with Victorian State team member Geoff Drakeford the defending champion. Victorian Sean Ong will return to South Australia to defend his Boys Golf South Australia Masters title at Royal Adelaide Golf Club. While the golf heats up in Adelaide, the action will also be in Melbourne at the Men&aposs Subaru Victorian Open at Spring Valley Golf Club where Ashley Hall is current title holder. The Boys&apos and Girls&apos SA Amateur titles also begin next week at Tea Tree Gully Golf Club and Flagstall Hill Golf Club. On January 14, the Women&aposs Lake Macquarie Amateur Championship kicks off at Belmont Golf Club in New South Wales with National Squad member Julia Boland the twice-reigning champion. Boland is now based at Texas A&M College in the United States. Eyes then turn south to Tasmania for the Tamar Valley Cup from January 18 at Greens Beach Golf Club. This is a 72 Hole Stroke Play event and an Australian Boys&apos and Girls&apos Ranking event. On January 21, the Men&aposs Lake Macquarie Amateur Championship takes place at Belmont Golf Club. Scott Arnold (now professional) will not defend his title, paving the way for a new name on the trophy. The first month of action is rounded out by the Boys&apos and Girls&apos Tasmanian Amateur titles at Riverside Golf Club before the ImageTec NSW Medal and Amateur Championship at Newcastle Golf Club and Royal Sydney Golf Club. For more information on these championships, visit Golf Australia&aposs Championships calendar.