Date: February 17, 2009
Author: Sportal and PA Sport

Jones to meet Tiger

Australian world No.64 Brendan Jones faces the world&aposs toughest assignment in the opening round of the Accenture World Match Play against Tiger Woods – if he decides to return to action. The world No.1 has not played since last June, when he won his 14th major at the US Open and then immediately underwent knee reconstruction surgery. But he is known to be practising hard and everyone in the sport is waiting to see a change on the next scheduled event section of his website. It currently reads &aposto be announced&apos. The 64-man Match Play starts on Wednesday week in Arizona, but a decision from the defending champion is expected by the end of this week. Should Woods or another golfer pull out, then No.65 Richard Green would take his place. Other Australians in the field are Geoff Ogilvy, Rod Pampling, Adam Scott, Matthew Goggin, Aaron Baddeley, Robert Allenby and Stuart Appleby. Second seed Sergio Garcia meets Charl Schwartzel first up while Pat Perez will be Padraig Harrington&aposs opening opponent. Henrik Stenson, who finished third in 2008 after taking home the trophy the previous year, takes on 2004 runner-up Davis Love. Dustin Johnson, who won the rain-soaked Pebble Beach Pro-Am, jumped to 45 in the world and will take on Steve Stricker in the opening round. Provisional draw (seeded positions in brackets): (1) Tiger Woods v (64) Brendan Jones; (32) Tim Clark v (33) Retief Goosen; (16) Rory McIlroy v (49) Louis Oosthuizen; (17) Mike Weir v (48) Hunter Mahan; (8) Geoff Ogilvy v (57) Kevin Sutherland; (25) Trevor Immelman v (40) Shingo Katayama; (9) Camilo Villegas v (56) Rod Pampling; (24) Miguel Angel Jimenez v (41) Rory Sabbatini (4) Vijay Singh v (61) Soren Kjeldsen; (29) Ben Curtis v (36) Luke Donald; (13) Ernie Els v (52) Soren Hansen; (20) Steve Stricker v (45) Dustin Johnson; (5) Phil Mickelson v (60) Angel Cabrera; (28) Zach Johnson v (37) Graeme McDowell; (12) Lee Westwood v (53) Prayad Marksaeng; (21) Stewart Cink v (44) Richard Sterne (2) Sergio Garcia v (63) Charl Schwartzel; (31) Ian Poulter v (34) Jeev Milkha Singh; (15) Justin Rose v (50) Boo Weekley; (18) Adam Scott v (47) Sean O&aposHair; (7) Robert Karlsson v (58) Peter Hanson; (26) Alvaro Quiros v (39) Stephen Ames; (10) Kenny Perry v (55) Matthew Goggin; (23) Paul Casey v (42) Aaron Baddeley (3) Padraig Harrington v (62) Pat Perez; (30) Robert Allenby v (35) Ross Fisher; (14) Jim Furyk v (51) Anders Hansen; (19) Martin Kaymer v (46) Stuart Appleby; (6) Henrik Stenson v (59) Davis Love; (27) Justin Leonard v (38) Andres Romero; (11) Anthony Kim v (54) Lin Wen-tang; (22) KJ Choi v (43) Oliver Wilson