Date: November 16, 2012
Author: Golf Tasmania

Lee set for Elvie Whiteside Stroke Play defence

Locals can expect to see some top class golf when the 2012 Elvie Whitesides 72-Hole Stroke Play Championship tees off this Sunday at the Royal Hobart Golf Club. The National selection event forms part of the Golf Australia s Karrie Webb Scholarship Series and is being conducted from November 18-20. Golf Tasmania has received 33 entries for the championship, including two national squad members, three internationals and 15 competitors from interstate. Current Elvie and US girls amateur champion Minjee Lee from Western Australia will be defending her title won last year at Launceston Golf Club. Fellow National Squad member Su-Hyun Oh of Victoria and Tasmania s own Ashley Dewhurst, competing on home soil, will also be big draw cards for the event. Oh was the 2012 Australian girls amateur champion and was also runner-up in the 2012 Callaway World Junior Championship in the US. While Dewhurst, who will be favourite for the event, captured the prized Australian women’s amateur championship in 2011 and has been a strong performer on the US amateur circuit. Interstate competitors keen to claim the prized trophy include Queensland s Gennai Goodwin, Adriana Brent from New South Wales and Grace Lennon of Victoria. One competitor keen to see her name on the honour board again is local golfer and former Tasmanian women’s amateur champion Tammy Hall. Hall has won the championship three times in the events 38 year history and is keen to claim a fourth title. Other local hopefuls to keep an eye on are Jane Hyland (Kingston Beach), Karen Calvert (Elderslie) and Amanda Smith (Riverside). The championship will see players complete 18-holes on Sunday followed by 36 on Monday and the final round deciding the champion on Tuesday. Sunday will also see the Tasmanian Women’s Senior, B & C Grade Amateur Championship tee off in conjunction with the Elvie event. An enthusiastic field of 31 competitors have entered and favourite to take out the senior section is local member Anne Medlycott. Other likely contenders include Tasmania s Margaret Leary and Victoria s Sandra Collingwood. The B grade section is likely to be dominated by Claremont s Sharon James-Wood, local member Anne Perks and Ulverstone s Gwen Doyle. While C grade remains open to players such as Ulverstone s Maxeen Fennell, Richmond s Dianne Harwood and Devonport s Irene Wilkinson. The 36-hole championship concludes on Monday and entrance is free of charge.